Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Very easy to make! I used basmati rice but, I wouldn't call this a family favorite, needed some more kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Very easy and quick. This tasty rice is worth making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This recipe is a winner just because it is SO easy! I have dene this before using one can of beef broth and one can of beef consume and it is a great side dish to any red meat dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
When I search for BROWN Rice recipes, I expected them to use BROWN Rice not white rice which is something else altogether! Perhaps this recipe while looking delicious might be re-named to represent what it REALLY is. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This recipe has been changed from the accidental white rice to the intended brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Usually when I make brown rice, even in the rice cooker, it always retains a crunchiness that I can't stand. This method, however, truly softened it up and made for an absolutely delicious sidedish! I actually omitted the butter - you don't need it. I instead added 1 and 1/2 cups of sliced mushrooms, and an extra cup of broth. It was moist and delicious. However, it took much longer than an hour to finish - at 350, it took closer to 2 hours. But perhaps my oven needs to be calibrated. Thanks for the recipe, I will use it often to prepare brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This a easy way to cook rice. I used 1 cup each of chicken and beef broth also an extra cup of water. (I used brown basmati rice and ratios were 1cup rice to 3 cups liquid) I used garlic powder and omited the seasoned salt. I omited the butter. In 2 tablespoons of olive oil I sauted chopped onions, sliced mushrooms and added this along with dried parlsey to rice. I baked rice covered and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMOMOFTWO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Pretty good overall. Came out very salty and I had to use twice as much liquid as originally called for. Easy to put together and let simmer in the oven while I worked on the rest of dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This is a good recipe. I added a little water as others did so soften it up and actually used 1/2 wild & 1/2 brown rice. Dixiebell must have reviewed the wrong recipe. This definitely called for brown rice. I agree though that if you are looking for brown rice recipes all that should come up are recipes using Brown Rice not white. Will use this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
OK - quite salty, I suggest you use a bit of water (maybe 1/2 cup and reduce each stock by 1/4 cup). You really don't need the extra table salt unless your broth is low sodium. Half of my family, including me, enjoyed it; the other half really didn't. It may have had something to do with our very old brown rice though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States