Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
very good! we covered it until the last 15 min. Added some chopped carrots, and substituted the water for beef broth and used half brown and half white rice. Great as leftovers also---a bit of teriyaki sauce is a good add-on, too! will keep using this recipe, the best I have found for moist rice, without stickiness or overcooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I love this rice. I added a little extra water, doubled the cooking time. Instead of using canned broth I used Tones chicken and beef soup base (the kind you can get at Sam's). I make my rice in large quanties and then freeze it in baggies with 2 or 3 cup baggies. This batch I used for an amazing chicken fried rice. This was the best batch ever. It had great texture and didn't get mushy in the wok. I will be roasting all my rice from now on. Great recipe thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was easy and delicious, much better thatn your average stove top rice. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown because it's what I had on hand. I used water instead of beef broth, and cut down on the butter and seasoning salt. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I love this rice! It's foolproof, and it also reheats well. The flavor is perfect, and it's always moist. The only changed I make include covering the rice while it bakes, and also I use all chicken broth, and reconstitute it from a chicken base. I use about 3 cups of water and 2 1/2 tsp of the base (instead of 3). This cuts down on the saltiness some reviewers complain of. My toddler practically shoves his face in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was the best brown rice I've ever made! I made some changes, though... instead of beef broth I just added water. I also omitted the butter. I added diced onions and carrots, and may try adding healthy ingredients next time. I just steamed it in a rice cooker instead of baking it in the oven. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totoro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
OMG! I am WORLD FAMOUS for ruining rice. I've ruined more pots than most people own, burning rice to the bottom for ETERNITY. But thanks to this recipe, I MADE RICE!!! I even just called my mom to tell her! I didn't have any stock but I was determined so I put a few glugs of soy sauce and a few glugs of woostery sauce in a measure and filled the rest of the way up with the appropriate amount of water. Added butter, season salt, garlic and regular salt. Threw a few onion flakes in for grins too. Perfect texture, perfect flavor PERFECT PERFECT PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Never thought to put brown rice in the oven. I used my microwave/oven and my covered baker from Pampered Chef - the best brown rice has ever turned out! Also love the combination of flavors, again, wouldn't have thought of it on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Use this all the time and vary it by adding sauted mushrooms and onions. I do always cook it covered, and it does seem to take more than an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
used all chicken broth as its all I had. no need to use the butter. added mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Sorry, but we son't be making this again. I made it as it said to and it didn't get done enough and it was too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States