Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Great Flavour! Used 1 cup of rice, 1 cup each of beef/chicken broth, butter and garlic powder. Baked covered, at 350 for an hour and 15 minutes. Worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodcurious
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
O.M.G.... I love this recipe 2nd time making brown rice (1st time with this recipe) my hubby loved it!! I actually made it tonight just to try it out so that tomorrow I can have some type of knowledge since am having a little dinner party. I will not look around for any other recipe. I will thought, try to tweaking this one a little so I can have a tender drier grain. the only problem I encounter was that after about 30 Min at 350 the water wasn't even boiling so I up temp to 400 and I gave it an extra 30 Min total 1 hr 30 min. I also did 2 cups rice and a 14.5 oz of beef & chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodcurious
Living In: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Loved this! Cooked it COVERED and it turned out good. Also threw in a large can of white meat chicken the second time I made it and it was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Delicious! Like risotto without any stirring! It's even good with some cheese mixed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkoltov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is absolutely fabulous! Only problem is...I can't stop at one serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I do add real garlic and onions because I prefer them. It's a simple side or a great base for a main dish. I've done it as is (with a little less broth), other times I've added grated zuchinni, carrot, and sqaush to it with seasonings of my choice, and I've used the technique with a brown/wild rice blend instead. I've also cooked it up with chicken breasts on top to make a complete one dish meal. Great versatility and great flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Yummy rice. I only used chicken broth, didnt use butter, used seasoned salt, and added diced carrots, a handful of frozen peas, diced onion and a clove of minced garlic. Baked at 350 for 80 minutes. Worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I followed this recipe to a T. The rice was not tender, it was still hard. What did I do wrong? Is it really supposed to be UN COVERED? I did this recipe twice, and it's really simple which is why I liked it but why isn't my rice coming out right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
My family LOVES rice cooked this way. Most times I fix it just like recipe...sometimes with a little chopped onion. SO easy I never make it any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Delicious, I used long grain brown rice, added 2 cloves of minced fresh garlic(in place of garlic salt), fresh chopped onion, and a little shredded carrots and rest of ingredients in the recipe. Baked covered for 45 minutes, then uncovered and baked until liquid was absorbed, about 10 more minutes. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States