Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
i loved this recipe, really flavorful & makes brown rice more tolerable if it's not your thing:) definitely need to cover this rice dish when baking or it will not be anywhere close to done in 60 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deetergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
this is surprising delish for a brown rice dish. I am not a brown rice fan at all, but recently i have been trying to incorporate it into my meals. this is by far the best recipe that i have tried by far. I followed the recipe except I halved the butter, finely chopped some celery, onions, omitted the garlic salt and used fresh garlic and green and red peppers. my only complaint is that it takes longer than an hour fifteen its more like 2 hours. this is def a keeper. thanks for getting me to eat brown rice, i feel healthier already, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe was great! All 5 kids said this was their favorite rice. After reading the other reviews, I did use garlic powder instead of garlic salt, EVOO instead of butter and omitted the season salt. Love that I can make it in the oven! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I don't know. This was okay, nothing special. I can do the same thing on the stovetop in alot less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
So easy, and good texture to the rice. Want to experiment with variations and addings differnet ingredients in with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this is my go-to vegetarian recipe. I use dehydrated carrots and mushrooms along with fresh onion and garlic. I also cook mine in the crockpot....it always took too long in the oven (longer than called for)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I sauteed finely chopped onion, celery, garlic and carrot in the butter before adding to the rice. Left out the salt, since the broth had enough for us. Ended up taking almost two hours for the rice to absorb the liquid and get tender. Baked this covered and would not try it without covering the pan. Taste was very good and would make again, just allotting more cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I'm the notorious kitchen-queen of ruining brown rice; typically, by having the rest of dinner ready, and the rice is still soupy or crunchy. This recipe saved my ability to now have brown rice on the table (and tasty!) at the same time as the rest of the meal! Alas, the recipe as written, was a 3-star, salty yawn-fest. Sooo for both flavor and some color, I made it again as follows: sauteed in 1 TB butter a minced garlic clove, and about a cups' worth of diced carrot, celery, and onion. Stirred that into the rice (1/2 c.) along w/ 1 1/2 c. beef broth and 1/2 tsp. dried parsley. Baked COVERED at 375 for 1 hr. 15 min. to perfection. Sprinkled the rice w/ a little hot sauce and some green onions, and BLAMMO! Very good indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Great recipe! I used Basmati brown rice, all chicken broth (low-sodium), a little less than 1/4 cup clarified butter, minced garlic, sea salt and threw in a few mushrooms. I cooked it covered since a lot of people did that and it took about 1-1/2 hours. But it was sooo easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Great Flavour! Used 1 cup of rice, 1 cup each of beef/chicken broth, butter and garlic powder. Baked covered, at 350 for an hour and 15 minutes. Worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States