Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I used a few additional spices and all chicken broth instead of beef, so this review is based solely on the cook method - the flavor was really nice. I cooked this as per instructions, and after nearly an hour and a half, I'd had to add extra water 2-3 times and my rice was STILL crunchy. We ate all the rest of our dinner and waited for rice... and waited... and waited... I finally pulled it out anyways and just covered it immediately, hoping the steam would soften it up a bit more. We ate it the next day. It was edible, but still a bit on the crunchy side. I've cooked brown rice many times before, so I KNOW it can get softer than that! Bottom line - I can make rice that tastes identical in a pot on the stove (the baking didn't really do anything magical to the flavor of brown rice for us), in about half the time, and KNOW it will be done with the rest of my dinner. Sorry, I won't make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Has anyone tried boiling the liquids first before cooking? I have a white rice recipe (done in 30 minutes) where you boil the liquid before cooking and the rice is fluffy and cooked through. The boiling water would start the cooking process a lot faster and prevent 2 hours of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Good flavor and EASY..however, I had to turn up the oven to 375 after 50 min because I wasn't seeing anything happening. Then I cooked it for another 45 min and it still wasn't quite done. By this time we were starving and just ate it. I'll jack the heat up to 400 next time and see what happens. Not writing it off just yet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Walker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA
Living In: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I'll never make brown rice on the stovetop again. This recipe is absolutely foolproof. The rice comes out perfectly, nutty and light. I added chopped scallions and sliced fresh mushrooms, once sautéed and once raw, and both variations were delish. I use olive oil instead of butter, garlic powder rather than garlic salt, and onion powder rather than seasoned salt as some have suggested. Leftovers refrigerated and warmed the next day have even more flavour. Thanks to kayleew for a great,easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I used a box of Near East Whole Grain Blends, Roasted Pecan and Garlic and combined it with this recipe. I used 1 cup beef broth and 1 cup of chicken broth, omitted the seasoning listed in the recipe and replaced it with the seasoning packet from the box then added the melted butter and baked it. It was fantastic!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Great recipe, I did lower the overall sodium content however, darn dietary restrictions...by using low sodium broths, unsalted butter and garlic powder instead of garlic salt as other reviewers had done. Served it alongside Broiled Scallops and Sugar Snap Peas. This was a wonderful way to dress up brown rice, thanks Kaylee for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
We make this all the time, but instead of cooking it in the oven, we just cook it in our rice cooker on the brown rice setting. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tademas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I LOVE white rice but I've been trying to eat healthier. I'm not a fan of brown rice but I tried this and loved it! I used 2 1/2 cups chicken broth and 1/2 cup of water. I also used several cloves of fresh minced garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This may be a great recipe, but after increasing the temperature and cooking this for 90 minutes the rice still wasn't done. I did taste the (hard) rice and the flavor was good, but I almost broke a tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This is a 6 star recipe! I make it with bouillion cubes when I'm out of broth, and it's still wonderful. All 4 kids and my husband are always asking me to make it again! However, I only use 1 cup beef broth and 1 cup chicken broth, with garlic powder instead of salt. I also cook it covered. It makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States