Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
As far as I am concerned - this is the only way to cook brown rice. It comes out perfect every single time and is delicious. As for the ratio of water/broth to rice - use what is listed on the bag then add a smidge more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
After an hour, there was still liquid and crunchy rice in the dish. It baked about 50 minutes longer and I had to add a bit more water to it. I've noticed that other people have said they had to cook the rice longer as well. Other than that, good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Awesome! I have cooked my rice like this a few times now and my family loves it! It's a great way to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
The best rice I have ever made. I have made four time in the past 7 days. I cooked a pound of ground beef and added a bag of frozen veggies to the rice when it was cooked. Very affordable and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Something went very wrong w/ this for us. Didn't work at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I do not care for rice!! With that being said I absolutely love this dish. I am on a certain eatting program and I am allowed to have brown rice so I tried to find recipes using brown rice. This recipe sounded easy and it had received alot of stars and compliments. Well this is a great dish and I have already had to share the recipe with family members. Thank you so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I used a few additional spices and all chicken broth instead of beef, so this review is based solely on the cook method - the flavor was really nice. I cooked this as per instructions, and after nearly an hour and a half, I'd had to add extra water 2-3 times and my rice was STILL crunchy. We ate all the rest of our dinner and waited for rice... and waited... and waited... I finally pulled it out anyways and just covered it immediately, hoping the steam would soften it up a bit more. We ate it the next day. It was edible, but still a bit on the crunchy side. I've cooked brown rice many times before, so I KNOW it can get softer than that! Bottom line - I can make rice that tastes identical in a pot on the stove (the baking didn't really do anything magical to the flavor of brown rice for us), in about half the time, and KNOW it will be done with the rest of my dinner. Sorry, I won't make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Has anyone tried boiling the liquids first before cooking? I have a white rice recipe (done in 30 minutes) where you boil the liquid before cooking and the rice is fluffy and cooked through. The boiling water would start the cooking process a lot faster and prevent 2 hours of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Good flavor and EASY..however, I had to turn up the oven to 375 after 50 min because I wasn't seeing anything happening. Then I cooked it for another 45 min and it still wasn't quite done. By this time we were starving and just ate it. I'll jack the heat up to 400 next time and see what happens. Not writing it off just yet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Venable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA
Living In: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I'll never make brown rice on the stovetop again. This recipe is absolutely foolproof. The rice comes out perfectly, nutty and light. I added chopped scallions and sliced fresh mushrooms, once sautéed and once raw, and both variations were delish. I use olive oil instead of butter, garlic powder rather than garlic salt, and onion powder rather than seasoned salt as some have suggested. Leftovers refrigerated and warmed the next day have even more flavour. Thanks to kayleew for a great,easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States