Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
A family favorite with just a few revisions: 2 3/4 c. of broth, either chicken or beef (don't need two kinds), 1 T. olive oil (instead of butter), 1/2 t. garlic salt, 1 t. Original Blend Mrs. Dash seasoning. I bake covered for 50 minutes and then bake it uncovered for 10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I like the idea of baking the brown rice, but this turned out too salty. Next time I will use water and then see what it needs, I really want it for stir fry, If I were serving as a just a side dish then I would try this again with much less sodium. Just need to tweek this a bit. Its a good recipe , just needs a few changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Zapp Winningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Super tasty and so easy! I used garlic powder and onion and 3 cups broth. Snuck some lentils in there too. Cooked as directed, and covered with foil. needed an extra 15min uncovered to help get rid of extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Well the flavor was definitely there but way too salty for my taste. Will try this again but with the powder not the all the salt. It did take another 45 minutes at 375 for me to finish this off. Why can't it be cooked in the microwave? I think I will try that the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
As far as I am concerned - this is the only way to cook brown rice. It comes out perfect every single time and is delicious. As for the ratio of water/broth to rice - use what is listed on the bag then add a smidge more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
After an hour, there was still liquid and crunchy rice in the dish. It baked about 50 minutes longer and I had to add a bit more water to it. I've noticed that other people have said they had to cook the rice longer as well. Other than that, good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Awesome! I have cooked my rice like this a few times now and my family loves it! It's a great way to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
The best rice I have ever made. I have made four time in the past 7 days. I cooked a pound of ground beef and added a bag of frozen veggies to the rice when it was cooked. Very affordable and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Something went very wrong w/ this for us. Didn't work at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States