Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great recipe! I used regular broth but did not add any other salt. I also used olive oil instead of butter. I added chopped garlic, dried onion and Italian seasoning. Cooked for an hour and then added about 1/2 cup of water and continued cooking for another 20 min. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Made this last night anf it was good. I used the broth off of my pot roast and added green onions and cheese. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
As written, I can see why others found this dish so salty. So,I took the advice from others and I substituted 2T olive oil for the butter, used fresh garlic instead of garlic salt and added just a dash of seasoned salt. I also used low sodium broths. Simple ingredients with yummy results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Brown rice has never been so good. I added chopped broccoli....superdelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
The first time I made this it was a salty crunchy mess. I wasn't going to give up on it so I made it again. I used garlic powerder instead of garlic salt and just used a dash of seasoning salt. I also boiled the broth before it went in the oven...cooked in an hour and it was yummy. It's a keeper with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
We love this way of cooking brown rice! I have done it with all chicken broth or all beef broth or a mix. I even have made it with the 22.5 oz hot water mixed with a packet of dry onion soup mix when I was out of broth base. You can even create a one dish meal out f this! Saute up some chopped carrots, onions and green pepper in olive oil. Then add it along with leftover shredded chicken to the casserole and bake according to orginal directions. When its done add some shredded cheddar and pop it back in the oven to melt. We did this tonight and it was YUMMY! I love this recipe! Thanks so much. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made this in my rice cooker using the suggested amount of liquid with the instructons. I didn't have broth, so I used bouillon cubes. As suggested by others I used olive oil instead of butter, garlic powder instead of salt, and I skipped the seasoned salt. Turned out really well, although I think I put a little too much oil in it. I plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Spoede

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This has the most delicious flavor. It was moist and beefy and went perfectly with our meal. I had to bake this an additional 30 minutes though as it was still like rice soup at that point. I did cut the seasoned salt to half as it sounded like way too much for us. We both loved this and I would have rated it higher had the rice actually been ready for dining at the time indicated. This will definitley be used again and again here. Overall, this is a great recipe and could easily become a favorite once I get the rice/liquid ratio straightened out. Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I calculated this recipe for 2 people. It took over an hour and 10 minutes to bake. I finally put it in the microwave so it would get done. Also, way too salty. If I do it again I will make sure the broths are sodium free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I am trying to gradually wean my family onto more whole grain products, and this rice was a big success! I omitted the butter and didn't miss it (and we are a "Paula Dean" kind of family). I also substituted fresh garlic for the garlic salt and added some mushrooms. As to the cooking time that some of the other reviews have mentioned, mine was perfectly cooked in an hour. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States