Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This recipe was BBBBBBoring! We tried it using other reviewer's suggestions to use low sodium broth and reduced the amount of salt. It tasted no different then when I make instant brown rice with chicken broth and took a lot longer to get on the table. Other than the non-instant brown rice being less expensive, I don't see any advantage to using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
If you are using instant brown rice put 2 cups instead of one! I also added about 1/8 c of vegetable oil in the rice to keep it from sticking to the pan. I also covered the pan with tin foil. It was a little tough with out the tin foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Was quite good. Nice, easy, versatile and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
this was fantastic! i prepared brown rice once before on the stovetop and was disappointed. this was much better. i served it with easy baked tilapia from this site so i added a little old bay instead of seasoned salt to compliment. keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Nice, consistant way to cook brown rice. I used slightly less liquid than called for and covered the dish with foil per other recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
It's a really easy way to cook brown rice, but it should be covered, not uncovered. If you cover the rice it will turn out really soft and fluffy, just the right texture as coming out from rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
We love this! I'm not sure what those who needed to cover did wrong but this is perfect just as it is. I don't add additional salt, just some garlic powder and some green onion if we have it. I think it would certainly be salty if I added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I wish I could give this 4 1/2 stars, because its almost just right with all the help of other reviewers. I used: 1 1/4 cups of brown rice, 2 3/4 cups of chicken broth, 2 T. EVOO, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and a sprinkle of Lawry's Seasoning Salt. I also sauteed up half an onion. I ended up baking this covered for 90 minutes at 375 and stirred a couple of times. This might sound weird, but to me it tasted like a really good, less salty "real" Rice-A-Roni type dish. Served with Baked Teriyaki Chicken from this site and broccoli. The only change I will make next time is to use a reduced-sodium broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
this is the only way I will make brown rice. If you want to cut fat you don't really need the butter.I do cover with foil before putting lid on and cook for 60 minutes let rest for 10 minutes before removing foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My family love this, including my nephew who is the pickiest of eaters. I use half wild rice, half brown and I toast slivered almonds and throw them in along with fresh mushrooms and frozen peas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States