Oven Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Yum! With a little tweaking, this was simply FANTASTIC!!! As is, this seemed pretty basic. A stew with absolutely NO seasoning seemed odd (not to mention boring) to me, so I made it my mission to doctor this up a bit. :) I appreciate trying a recipe as written initially, but I knew that my hubs and I would not care for this without making a few necessary adjustments to suit our tastes. To start, I subbed beef broth for the water called for (I was afraid the water would dilute everything else). I then added 1/2 t each of French thyme and marjoram, a bay leaf, several shakes of Worcestershire sauce and a GENEROUS dose of s&p. To use up some produce I already had, I added 3 small stalks of coarsely chopped celery (including the leaves), 2 small (chopped) yellow onions, a few cloves of minced garlic and a tad bit more carrots than called for. I also added ~ a cup of frozen pearl onions and subbed Campbell's cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup for plain 'ol mushroom soup. My final change was to NOT peel my quartered (baby Idaho) potatoes. With these changes, this was a phenomenal stew! Served over egg noodles with a sprinkling of fresh parsley and biscuits on the side. Thanks for sharing such a great, basic recipe KARPITS! I will be making this often! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I just made this tonight and it was very good using another reviewers suggestion of 2 cans of cream of mush. 1 cup of beef broth and the onion soup mix. I also add onion and garlic powder and pepper because we like that. I had double the meat, for our large family. What i liked best about this was not having to brown the meat. I ALWAYS brown the meat but this time I just didnt have the time and it was just great without this step. I was a little short on time so I started it , covered, for an hour @350 then reduced and cooked uncovered for awhile to thicken. Thanks for the all around good recipe that did not involve browning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was so tasty and easy. I used one can of beef consomme and 1/2 package of onion soup mix, about two cups water and two bay leaves. I put in a COVERED dutch oven as I let it cook for about 6 hours while I was gone and was afraid of drying out since I couldn't stir it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I used the suggestions of B_32's review and this stew came out very well. Don't cut up the beef too small though because the pieces will be a little overdone and tough. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Amazing, delicious, simple! I've been making this stew in the fall since I found the recipe in "Tried and True Favorites" about 7 years ago and it always hits the spot! Great recipe, exactly as written, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was my first beef stew. Didn't change a thing. My family loved it. They rated it 5+!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Logan, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Easy to make but there was not a lot of flavor. I added alot of things to make it taste better; also it was somewhat soupy so i thickened it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I give this recipe 4 stars for flavor, but 2 for presentation. It doesn't look that appetizing but I swear it tastes good. I added about a half package of fresh mushrooms and cooked it in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours. This will be in the rotation at our house now for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krispy6372

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I made this stew for Sunday dinner and it was a major disappointment. Very bland and it didn't look very appetizing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Great was a hit with everyone. Very easy to make.Everyone was convinced I had spent hours in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delfzyl, Groningen, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States