Oven Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
came out good... i used a slow cooker instead and added alot more veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was really good. I added a 2 crushed cloves of garlic and a couple of bay leaves. I also used extra liquid, both water and beef broth as I was using extra meat, potatoes, and veggies. The ONLY criticism I have is that while the tomato soup added nice flavor, it was a bit sweet, even with the extra liquid I added. I will definitely make this again but next time I will add something to cut the sweetness a bit, maybe some red wine or red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. I have used it many times and each time it is perfect. Family and friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicoleh66
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was absolutely Delicious and so easy. I also added celery. I put garlic powder, onion salt and red pepper flakes in my flour mixture to coat the beef, and I purchased already cubed beef. I doubled this recipe and also doubled the baking time to 3 1/2 hours which made the veggies super tender. The first 2 hours I baked on 350 and then reduced the temp to 325 for the rest of the cooking time. My family Loved this! I will definitely keep this recipe in my regular rotation of meals cooked. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe! Thank-you! I made a few small adjustments ( added some beef gravy to thicken, 1/4 cup red wine, lots of chopped mushrooms, can of peas, used pearl onions). I didn't have a casserole dish large enough for oven use so i had to do it in the Crock Pot. First 2 hrs on high then 6 on low. Meat was so tender - and flavours were amazing. Company LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Parry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My husband is a HUGE fan of beef stew, and he really liked this! I did use beef stock instead of water, to add flavor. He wished the beef had more flavor, so I may marinate it next time. Not sure with what, but something else. Overall, loved it. Awesome recipe. Next time will make homemade bread to go with it. I think it would make this amazing soup/stew even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brookenelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This has to be the best beef stew I have ever had. Don't be fooled by how basic the recipe appears- it is delicious! I double it to feed 4 people, except I used only one can of tomato soup. I added an extra cup of water and a beef bouillon packet and approx 1 cup of frozen corn. Like other reviewers, I added all veggies at once and it was perfect. My four year old asked me to "please make this soup every day!". Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RayColsOh
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I've tried a few other beef stew recipes but stopped looking once I found this one. Easy, satisfying, and very tasty. Like others, I doubled everything. I also added peas and garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
My husband does not like beef stew but he told me i out did myself on this stew and had to servings! I calculated the recipe for 6 servings and made it as described except I used beef broth instead of water and I added a little Worcestershire sauce. That is the little something the recipe is missong. Great comfort food! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Perfect day for comfort food and this is the ultimate. I didn't use the soup, I threw in cherry tomatoes from the end of the garden and for liquid I used beef stock. Also added rutabaga, yum. Pretty standard recipe, but extremely tasty and was well pleased with the thickening of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States