Oven Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
came out good... i used a slow cooker instead and added alot more veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was really good. I added a 2 crushed cloves of garlic and a couple of bay leaves. I also used extra liquid, both water and beef broth as I was using extra meat, potatoes, and veggies. The ONLY criticism I have is that while the tomato soup added nice flavor, it was a bit sweet, even with the extra liquid I added. I will definitely make this again but next time I will add something to cut the sweetness a bit, maybe some red wine or red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. I have used it many times and each time it is perfect. Family and friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicoleh66
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was absolutely Delicious and so easy. I also added celery. I put garlic powder, onion salt and red pepper flakes in my flour mixture to coat the beef, and I purchased already cubed beef. I doubled this recipe and also doubled the baking time to 3 1/2 hours which made the veggies super tender. The first 2 hours I baked on 350 and then reduced the temp to 325 for the rest of the cooking time. My family Loved this! I will definitely keep this recipe in my regular rotation of meals cooked. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe! Thank-you! I made a few small adjustments ( added some beef gravy to thicken, 1/4 cup red wine, lots of chopped mushrooms, can of peas, used pearl onions). I didn't have a casserole dish large enough for oven use so i had to do it in the Crock Pot. First 2 hrs on high then 6 on low. Meat was so tender - and flavours were amazing. Company LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Parry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My husband is a HUGE fan of beef stew, and he really liked this! I did use beef stock instead of water, to add flavor. He wished the beef had more flavor, so I may marinate it next time. Not sure with what, but something else. Overall, loved it. Awesome recipe. Next time will make homemade bread to go with it. I think it would make this amazing soup/stew even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brookenelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This has to be the best beef stew I have ever had. Don't be fooled by how basic the recipe appears- it is delicious! I double it to feed 4 people, except I used only one can of tomato soup. I added an extra cup of water and a beef bouillon packet and approx 1 cup of frozen corn. Like other reviewers, I added all veggies at once and it was perfect. My four year old asked me to "please make this soup every day!". Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RayColsOh
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I've tried a few other beef stew recipes but stopped looking once I found this one. Easy, satisfying, and very tasty. Like others, I doubled everything. I also added peas and garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
My husband does not like beef stew but he told me i out did myself on this stew and had to servings! I calculated the recipe for 6 servings and made it as described except I used beef broth instead of water and I added a little Worcestershire sauce. That is the little something the recipe is missong. Great comfort food! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Perfect day for comfort food and this is the ultimate. I didn't use the soup, I threw in cherry tomatoes from the end of the garden and for liquid I used beef stock. Also added rutabaga, yum. Pretty standard recipe, but extremely tasty and was well pleased with the thickening of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States