Oven BBQ Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is one of my family favorites. It does not matter if its ribs or what we call "farmer ribs" (no bones). I like the sauce coming from scratch and not out of a bottle. I did substitute the ketchup with tomato sauce that we can ourselves. I leave out the hot sauce and use our canned tomatoes with peppers instead, so I think the kick is the same. My family LOVES this, and ribs is about one of the last things they want, even if the meat was raised by us and all organic. We don't keep beer around, so I have used really good beers and have borrowed a cheap one from a neighbor. It still turns out great. My children thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
While simmering in beer may be an good idea, 2 hours is too long and the meat resembled crock pot meat which is mushy as opposed to tender and the flavor was cooked out of the pork. Sweet Baby Ray saved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good and flavorful, the ribs just fell off the bone. My wife and kids, all said to throw out the rest of the recipes I have for ribs and just use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Beautiful ribs!! My boyfriend loved them so much he asked if we could have them again the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These were easy and excellent. I actually made one slab with this recipe and one using a crock pot method. the crock pot ribs were mealy. These were perfect. The bbq sauce looks odd and my kids didn't want to try it at first, but they liked it once they did. It has a great taste, not overly sweet. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. Try changing beer flavors for the different seasons of the year. In winter I use a Bourbon barrel beer to give the ribs a more hearty flavor, and light beer in the summer then use the grill instead of the oven. My family loves when I make these ribs. Experiment with the beer flavor according to your own taste. I personally stay away from the ones that have any fruit flavor other than lemon or lime when using them for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaChef1970

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I added a teaspoon of liquid smoke and was rewarded with spare ribs that tasted as good as the real deal. And my grill was not going to be fired up today with snow on the ground, I'm not that hard core. And don't just dump that braising liquid, I peeled some potatoes and boiled them in it while the meat was in the oven. Best boiled spuds ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I made it with a different sauce, and I used 2 bottles of beer. But wow, the meat is falling off onto my plate leaving a clean bone behind!!!!! These are the best ribs I've ever had in my life! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
We cooked these ribs up on a Sunday afternoon and they were delicious. Our 1 year old is a very picky eater and she was screaming for more when we let her taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I've been making the ribs like this for quite some time. I use my own bbq sauce that I make, but I use this method for the ribs and OMG they are fantastic! I use all beer and simmer them for 2 hours before putting them in the oven to finish them off and the meat just falls off the bone. They are so delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Oven-Baked BBQ Ribs

No grill? No worries. These baked ribs are juicy and tasty.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States