Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Husband and his friends said it was "delicious." Made for the first time, only thing I changed was not to add the water. Put half the sauce on for first 30 min & then turned the chicken & added the rest of the sauce. Also, I never covered it. Turned out great and ingredients are those that you would always have on hand. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I uncovered it for the last 20 minutes of baking, hoping to thicken the sauce a little. When I noticed it was still quite runny, I removed 1/2 cup of the sauce, threw two ice cubes in to cool it quickly, stirred in 1 tablespoon of cornstarch, then added this mixture to the rest of the dish. I popped it back in the hot oven for a few minutes until it bubbled enough to cook the cornstarch. It was delicious with mashed potatoes and green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Just tried this tonight and it was great. I changed up the cooking process though due to time. I pan-fried the chicken drumsticks in garlic and onion for 15 minutes, then poured the sauce into the skillet, put on the lid, and cooked on high for 20 minutes. Then I lowered the heat for another 10 minutes and dinner was ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
My husband kept repeating this, like a man gone crazy.. "this is so good!" Just over and over. For the kids I left out the chili powder. I liked what another reviewer said, it's definitely restaurant quality. We will be keeping this recipe close at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommaverick
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Just made this last night for dinner...didn't really follow exact ingredients, but came close =) white vinegar -> apple cider vinegar (what's the difference!?) brown sugar -> organic brown sugar dry mustard -> is that the same as mustard powder? soy sauce instead of Worcestershire sauce butter -> can't believe its not butter?! i guess its not the usual, regular butter. Overall, it was delicious. Sauce was perfect, not watery at all. Thickened well but baked for 1 hr 30 min at 375 degrees.. Loved it, I would definitely make it again =) 3.5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I did not enjoy this. I was hoping for a sweeter sauce and the sauce was so watery-I even cooked it an extra 10mins without the foil and another 5mns in broiler--sauce was watery. Maybe a little cornstarch to thicken it up. I followed the recipe to a T but did double it for 12 legs. I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 because my hubby and one of my sons said it was "pretty good". So maybe it was just me but I was disappointed. Thanks for sharing your recipe though and have a great night! Still looking for a great barbeque sauce that I can make at home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My family and I quite liked this recipe, but changed a few things... None of us like sweet meals, so I omitted the brown sugar, use tomato paste instead of ketchup, chop in some onion, cayenne pepper... In other words, I improvise every time to make the dish a bit spicier and less sweet. And while baking, I never cover it with foil, because my family loves their chicken crispy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMightyA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is a delicious recipe! I substituted smoked paprika for part of the chili powder which gave it a very nice flavor. The sauce is a little thin so next time I will uncover part way through the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was soooooo easy. I doubled the sauce, and added garlic. I turned my drumsticks every 15 minutes, and moved them around a little, but that was mostly because my oven cooks unevenly so I have to constantly check things and rotate stuff. I also took the foil off for 10-15 minutes (after an hour) to thicken the sauce, which did not really make that much off a difference. The water I thought was definitely unnecessary, and I think the next time I make it, I will double everything but the water, and then, try it without any water at all the third time. Even if made exactly as is, it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very tasty, but definitely leave out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States