Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I agree with leaving out the water. The sauce was O.K. My kids didn't really like it. Said it would be better to use a bottled sauce. I followed the recipe exactly, except for leaving out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This recipe is terrible. Or the bbq "sauce" recipe is terrible rather. The "bbq sauce" portion just makes a watery soupy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chase Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The liquid had a nice flavor, but TOO MUCH WATER! With all of that water then covering to bake, it just boiled the chicken. If you're going to make this, leave the water out, maybe add a tablespoon or two if you need to and I wouldn't leave it covered all throughout the cooking. I left mine uncovered for the last 30 minutes and the only bits that had some half decent flavor were the ones that weren't touching the boiling liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I like it. My kids and husband were very happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This recipe was easy to prepare. I did not add water and only used half the vinegar. The sauce was very liquid & the chicken did not look anything like the picture. I ended up removing the foil, putting it under the broiler and adding BBQ sauce. There was way too much fluid in bottom of pan! Had good flavor & moistness, but next time will remove skin and baste with sauce not drown it in a flavored fluid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Kensing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FruitoftheHands
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
My husband and friends thought these came out delicious! I only added about half the water, and poured all the sauce over the chicken. I cooked uncovered, flipped the chicken half way, and then broiled on high for the last 10 minutes to crisp up the skin. The sauce thickened just fine and came out really tasty. They didn't come off the bone as easily as I would have liked though, they could have used about 15 more minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Good recipe with some minor tweaks. I cut the brown sugar down to 2T and the salt to 1 tsp. I omitted the water, but added a splash of low sodium chicken broth to the sauce to thin it out slightly right before coating the chicken. I also heeded the advice of other reviewers and cooked it 30 minutes covered and then 45 minutes uncovered. I flipped the chicken twice while it was uncovered. The drumsticks came out really juicy and flavorful. I think next time though I will leave out the salt altogether. This is a great recipe when you need to put something together quickly as I had all the sauce ingredients on hand already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
The sauce was way too runny. However, my little brother liked it. I believe in second chances, so I may alter the recipe next time. ------- Next Time: This was amazing! I just cut down a little on the water and the vinegar, and used regular mustard instead of the powder, and the sauce didn't turn out too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMagician

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mossyrock, Washington, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This was an absolutely fantastic meal!! Usually I do not rate recipes but this one deserved it! I did not use water as it would have been way too thin! I did add a tsp of garlic because my family loves garlic. Other than those two tiny changes, we left the recipe as is and followed all directions to a tee! We will definitely be doing this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Don't let the 3 stars fool you. This is a great meal. I honestly didn't make the sauce that they made for theirs. I substituted it with a BBQ sauce that I already know I like. It still cooked great and tasted amazing. I'm giving it a 3/5 because the sauce recipe can be difficult if you are new to cooking (like myself). If you know you wont mess up then that's great. If you're unsure like me then substitute your own already made sauce from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States