Oven-Barbecued Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Didn't change a thing, Loved it and my husband loved it. Winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I have made these ribs for a couple of years now and they are fabulous. My husband and my entire family love them. A couple of times, I didn't have the time to make the saucs and used bottled sauce and they were just as great. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
fixed these this evening .... went over well for a first time recipe .... I used spareribs because the title of the recipe is "oven-barbecued spareribs" and I didn't notice that in the ingredient list it called for "country style ribs" until after I had shopped. So, I "adjusted" my cooking method. I mixed the other ingredients according to directions in a bowl and added about a cup of water and poured that over the spareribs. Cooked in the oven covered (didn't want the spareribs to dry out) for an hour and a half. Took the cover off and let it cook another 40 mins or so. They were "pull off the bone tender"!!! Made up some rice and used the sauce as a "gravy" over the rice .... steamed some broccoli ..... complete meal. The only compaint is that it needed more "heat", next time I will add some cayenne (husbands favorite) THANK YOU!!!! Husband says it's a "keeper"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorpark, California, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These ribs were so tender! I was concerned because I had purchased St. Louis style ribs which are a tougher cut but it worked out deliciously. I did sprinkle BBQ powder rub on the ribs first but followed the sauce recipe to a t. I also doubled up the rib amount but the cooking time remained about the same (did check then with a thermometer though). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The only reason I am giving a 4 star rating is because the meat turned out rather tough and dry. That being said, the sauce was SUPER, and I believe the fault may have been mine for getting the wrong cut of meat. The only addition I made to the sauce recipe as it did seem a bit acidic, was to pour in about 1/4 c of regular bbq sauce (can't remember the brand) and that made it deeeeeeelish. If yours turns out a bit overdone, just slice the meat as thin as you can and mix all with the sauce and let sit overnight in the fridge. Nuke the next day and wa-lah!!! MUCH better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Springtown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I will give this 5 stars, although I made some changes! I did a dry-rub on both sides of the ribs (I also made way more) the rub included garlic powder, onion powder and paprika. I let it set overnight and then completed the recipe as written. I've made these two times now, and each time I get RAVE reviews from the girls and daddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Great recipe!! Very, very easy and delicious! the ribs were tender but not mushy...didn't taste steamed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
When I was simmering the sauce I was a little concerned that I had added too much cider vinegar because it was awfully pungent...but once I baked it on the ribs it was awesome. My two year old son is a little picky about anything hot and I wasn't sure he would eat it with the mustard and chili powder, but he kept eating off of our plates. It was a lot better than just baking the pork ribs with bottled bbq sauce. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RelentlessChik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
When I've made ribs in the oven before, they become overdone, braised in barbecue sauce. But this worked quite well, I thought. Even though I used 3 lbs. of ribs, the basic recipe for the sauce held true without adding a lot to it. Also, the timing was pretty close. I used bottled barbecue sauce instead of ketchup, green bell pepper instead of celery, but it still came out good. The sauce was subtle instead of overpowering and it created a nice bark on the meat like you would get on a grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Excellent my family loved it would not change anything other that used Wine Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States