Oven-Barbecued Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Didn't change a thing, Loved it and my husband loved it. Winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I have made these ribs for a couple of years now and they are fabulous. My husband and my entire family love them. A couple of times, I didn't have the time to make the saucs and used bottled sauce and they were just as great. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
fixed these this evening .... went over well for a first time recipe .... I used spareribs because the title of the recipe is "oven-barbecued spareribs" and I didn't notice that in the ingredient list it called for "country style ribs" until after I had shopped. So, I "adjusted" my cooking method. I mixed the other ingredients according to directions in a bowl and added about a cup of water and poured that over the spareribs. Cooked in the oven covered (didn't want the spareribs to dry out) for an hour and a half. Took the cover off and let it cook another 40 mins or so. They were "pull off the bone tender"!!! Made up some rice and used the sauce as a "gravy" over the rice .... steamed some broccoli ..... complete meal. The only compaint is that it needed more "heat", next time I will add some cayenne (husbands favorite) THANK YOU!!!! Husband says it's a "keeper"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorpark, California, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These ribs were so tender! I was concerned because I had purchased St. Louis style ribs which are a tougher cut but it worked out deliciously. I did sprinkle BBQ powder rub on the ribs first but followed the sauce recipe to a t. I also doubled up the rib amount but the cooking time remained about the same (did check then with a thermometer though). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The only reason I am giving a 4 star rating is because the meat turned out rather tough and dry. That being said, the sauce was SUPER, and I believe the fault may have been mine for getting the wrong cut of meat. The only addition I made to the sauce recipe as it did seem a bit acidic, was to pour in about 1/4 c of regular bbq sauce (can't remember the brand) and that made it deeeeeeelish. If yours turns out a bit overdone, just slice the meat as thin as you can and mix all with the sauce and let sit overnight in the fridge. Nuke the next day and wa-lah!!! MUCH better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Springtown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I will give this 5 stars, although I made some changes! I did a dry-rub on both sides of the ribs (I also made way more) the rub included garlic powder, onion powder and paprika. I let it set overnight and then completed the recipe as written. I've made these two times now, and each time I get RAVE reviews from the girls and daddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Great recipe!! Very, very easy and delicious! the ribs were tender but not mushy...didn't taste steamed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
When I was simmering the sauce I was a little concerned that I had added too much cider vinegar because it was awfully pungent...but once I baked it on the ribs it was awesome. My two year old son is a little picky about anything hot and I wasn't sure he would eat it with the mustard and chili powder, but he kept eating off of our plates. It was a lot better than just baking the pork ribs with bottled bbq sauce. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RelentlessChik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
When I've made ribs in the oven before, they become overdone, braised in barbecue sauce. But this worked quite well, I thought. Even though I used 3 lbs. of ribs, the basic recipe for the sauce held true without adding a lot to it. Also, the timing was pretty close. I used bottled barbecue sauce instead of ketchup, green bell pepper instead of celery, but it still came out good. The sauce was subtle instead of overpowering and it created a nice bark on the meat like you would get on a grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Excellent my family loved it would not change anything other that used Wine Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States