Oven Barbecued Beef Brisket I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
this was by far the best oven brisket I've tried yet,however I incorporated a couple ingredients instead of water beef stock, as far as dry seasons added brown sugar and tony thactherys Cajun season and olive oil.take brisket and wipe dry cover lightly in olive oil,take dry season mixed together in equal amounts and rub in.put in frig for six hours or better.when it's cooked you will find it fork tender with lots of flavor,enjoy all you great cooks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Very fatty cut of meat, that we did not enjoy. The recipe seemed to work though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Oostdyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Followed directions exactly and it wasnt very tender. Not sure if it was the cut of meat or maybe it needed more bbq sauce/ water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was so easy and resulted in a tender brisket. We use grass fed beef, which can get tough when cooked incorrectly, but this was wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I usually use my own brisket recipe, but I needed something simple & quicker tonight. Followed directions exactly, & ended up with a tough, overdone chunk of beef after only one hour & 48 minutes in the oven (it's a 2.83 lb. brisket). According to the recipe, I should now cook for an additional hour in the BBQ water mixture. Considering the condition it's currently in, I've reduced the temperature to 275, & plan to check it in 30 minutes. I feel like this could've been a success with a lower baking temp, a smaller roasting pan, & some liquid added in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I cooked for my crew and they said that this was the best brisket they've eve had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was truly amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Made this for the first time today and it is the best brisket I have ever had! Will definitely make again and again.!! So tender it fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I tried this recipie last Sunday and it turned out great, I did add some other ingredients in my spice rub and used beer instead of water, but the brisket was like butter baby. I will certainly use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Super simple and delicious. Reviewers who say it's too fatty should be aware that with Brisket, most recipes tell you to remove as much of the thick fat layer as you can before cooking. This recipe unfortunately doesn't tell you that, but it's almost always a good idea. The only other changes I made to this recipe were 1) I put a thin layer of barbecue sauce on the meat for the first round of cooking, then more in the second (after slicing), and 2) I split the cooking time approximately in half, rather than just leaving an hour of cooking after slicing the meat . Incidentally, reviewers who say their meat turned out (or usually turns out) like shoe leather should be careful about which cuts of meat they use for slow cooking like this. You need a fatty, gristly cut like brisket because the collagen (in the gristle) breaks down slowly and tenderizes the meat. Leaner, finer cuts like steaks don't have much gristle and are much better for grilling, searing, frying, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States