Oven Baked Zucchini Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I did a few things differently. It was faster for me to just slice the zucchini (unpeeled). I also used 2 Tbsp. of milk and 1 egg white mixed together, instead of the butter. Near the end of the cooking time, I set the oven to broil to crisp them up. I also, flipped them once half way through baking. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Really good. We have never slurped down Zucchini so quickly. I had to fry it because the oven was busy and I changed it to saffron oil for a higher smoke point. Next time, if I were going to fry it, I would put on a egg coating, flour coating, egg coating and then crumbs and cheese coating so that more of the coating would stick to the zucchini. But since this was a baked recipe I would hardly hold that against this. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it didn't have an epic enough "wow" factor. Peoples complements were all "for zucchini, this is great.." and I thought a five star shouldn't have the "for zucchini" qualifier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Hubby loved this! So easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
just sprayed with canola oil and sprinkled with parmesan--yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Awesome! But I would recommend baking a little longer if you like crunchy fries. They get a little soggy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These zucchini fries were labor intensive for the results. The coating was rather bland-- my dining companion and I had to add more seasoned salt as we went. The zucchini became a little slimy; the texture was unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
yummy - dipped in egg instead of butter and used panko crumbs as that is what I had on hand. They were fabulous - will try butter next time but i was out.. javascript:void(0);
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Waumsley-Sharpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Too salty eventhough I rinsed and dried well before coating and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was easy and delicious and I will do it again! I did tweak it a bit - I used olive oil instead of butter and I didn't peel the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I adore fried zucchini but don't want the fat from a deep fryer so oven baked is the way to go. I might add that I have fried the zucchini in the past and now that I've tried oven baked I prefer it this way. I did modify the recipe slightly. I like the spear shape better, so I cut 2 zucchini in half to make shorter spears (left seeds in since they were not big), then each half was divided into 8 spears. I used 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese and 2/3 cup Panko crumbs (instead of bread crumbs) and I added garlic salt and lemon pepper to taste (didn't measure, just added then tasted to see if I added enough - start with less then you think you need, add more if wanted). I scrambled 2 eggs to dip the zucchini into instead of butter before coating them with my crumbs, but used a little butter to grease my foil since I didn't have any cooking spray. I baked mine for 25 mins (I like them crispy!) @ 425 in a convection toaster oven (didn't even bother turning them) and they came out perfect. I had to bake them in 2 batches because my oven is small. But still this was easier on me than deep frying because you don't have to stand over the stove monitoring the frying process and I was able to get more spears into my oven than I could have fit in a frying pan. Will be doing this again SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States