Oven Baked Tempeh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I love tempeh, but it is really difficult to find it in Tokyo. I finally got my hands on some and decided to try this recipe. Like another reviewer, I substituted one onion for the leek and shallots. I also used cayenne pepper instead of red pepper flakes and Japanese eggplant instead of zucchini. I omitted the bell pepper. I used soy sauce instead of tamari and vegetable broth instead of sherry. Also, I followed another reviewer and soaked the crumbled tempeh in soy sauce, olive oil, cumin, garlic powder, and chili powder before cooking and only sauteed the veggies for about a minute. Still, this recipe was pretty great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TokyoVeggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Whole family loved it. We've never used Tempeh before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Interesting dish. I never use tempeh without seasoning it first. Maybe this could help others. In a bowl I put approx. 2 T. olive oil and about 4-5 T. Bragg's with some seasoning. Use what you like. I used some Goya Adobo and cumin, but you could use garlic powder, etc. I then crumbled the tempeh into the bowl, mixed it up, and set it aside until it was time to add to the veggies. This lets the seasoning permeate the tempeh and give it some much needed taste. Like a previous reviewer said, don't overcook the veggies. I found I didn't need to saute anything for 5 minutes before adding the next set of ingredients. I doubled the zucchini, used an entire red pepper, and instead of sherry I used vegetable broth. This made quite a lot and I served it with mashed potatoes for everyone and noodles for me (vegan). It tasted really good! I will mix the leftovers tonight with brown rice and put them in some peppers and make stuffed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was delicious. I didn't have flavored tempeh just unflavored and I used low sodium soy sauce instead of tamari I also took others recommendation and doubled the soy sauce to 2 Tbsp. We have been vegetarians for over 3 years but I have never tried making tempeh before and it was a great first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe, but like everybody else, thought it needed extra kick. And thats why im recommending you to put at least a teaspoon of Tabasco and Worcestor sauce in. With these extras its really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Since we are newbie Vegans, this is the first time I tried a tempeh recipe. I used extra tamari, and a can of diced tomatos with roasted red pepper. No leeks. only fried up some onions. It was really very tasty! Maybe the only thing I did wrong was cut the tempeh up in small squares and should have crumbled it? Anyway, the DH liked it a lot too, so I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Everyone loved it but based on some other reviews I tripled the Tamari and it still could use a little more flavor... I think next time I'll try some more garlic or perhaps some soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milktoast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was good, but a little plain. I liked it, my roommate (non-vegetarian) wasn't impressed. I'll definitely eat the left-overs though and maybe try again with additional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
We really liked this recipe- very flavorful, not too high maintenence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I am a vegetarian and really enjoy this dish. I have been making it for several years now. I only make minor adjustments. I usually skip the leeks and shallots and substitute with onions. Leeks and shallots are great, but I don't keep those items on hand, and they make the recipe quite costly. I do use 2 tablespoons of tamari for a little extra flavor. I also suggest extra zucchini, mostly to give the dish more contrast in colors. I like to use halved grape tomatoes. Some reviewers have mentioned that this dish does not taste like chicken. That is correct. Tempeh does not taste like a meat. It has its own texture and takes on the flavor of what it is cooked with. You have to like tempeh to enjoy this dish. It is a staple in a vegetarian's diet. One last comment. I do not see how this dish would serve 6 people as the main course, and since it has tempeh, it is a main course dish. I would say it serves 3-4 as a main dish. Maybe I just have a heartier appetite, but that is how I see it. Update: August 2014: I continue to enjoy making and eating this dish. I have found that adding mushrooms is a nice addition. I recently learned that shitake mushrooms have great health benefits, so I decided to use them in this recipe and was pleased with the results. This dish can be adjusted to your preferences in so many ways. Don't be afraid to experiment. The recipe as listed is awesome, but feel free to make it your own based on what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States