Oven-Baked Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made it for my company party and it was a hit. I do recomend a little salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This recipe ended up being really good, but it was ALL wrong. The cook time took at least twice as long... There was so much liquid, the rice didn't cook in 40 minutes and I wouldn't recommend uncovering it before all the liquid is soaked up by the rice because then it creates a nasty crust on top from the milk. I used a can of cream of chicken & mushroom & didn't have any parsley. It was very delicious in the end but adjust your cook time accordingly. Now that I think of it maybe mine took so long because I put it in a different baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadNewsBears777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This is ultimate comfort food. Good thing I made this the night my boyfriend broke up with me, ha. I only rated it a 3, because it was good AFTER doing what many people in the reviews did. I precooked 1 onion, chopped, 2 cups-ish mushrooms, and a couple handfuls of frozen spinach and added them to the mix, and also added tomatoes (didn't have sun-dried) and 2 cloves minced garlic (used plain cream of mushroom without garlic). I also added a little bit of vegetable broth to add moisture, like 1/3 cup or so. I also put in way more parmesan, but that's because I like cheese. Also, add salt to your taste and plenty of Italian seasoning or fresh herbs of your choice, because it will be bland without it. I didn't have the pan the recipe asked for, but I just used a 13x9 nonstick baking pan and it was fine. DEFINITELY cook for way longer. I cooked for 45-50 minutes covered and then 11 minutes uncovered afterwards. Also, the recipe says you can use long grain rice... that's false. DO NOT use long grain rice. MAYBE use another short grain rice if you don't have arborio. But if you don't have either, then don't waste your time, else you'll be disappointed with the result. I learned that before with risotto. Good thing about risotto is that it's versatile so you can get rid of some of the extra produce in your fridge and play around with combinations, and besides the splurge on arborio rice, it's (college) budget friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I have made this several time and love it. It always comes out perfect. I do add fresh mushrooms to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was by far the easiest recipe and very tasty! I did add some garlic and onions precooked to the mix. Other than that I didn't change anything else. Plus my kids love it too. I have already had one person from work ask me for the recipe. Thanks for making my life that much easier. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Fantastic recipe, and easily altered for different flavours. Excellent if you want a filling, tasty dish on a low, low budget
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Great, easy side dish. I substitued Cream of Celery soup for the mushroom soup (my big Sis HATES mushrooms) and added some garlic and fresh parsley. I also recommend waiting until the end to stir in all the parmesan cheese - it will solve the "sticking" problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My non-risotto liking husband changed his tune with this one! Didn't have sundried tomatoes on hand, so used bite sized pieces of mushrooms that i had pre-cooked in a fry pan. I increased the garlic too. As others had indicated, it took slightly longer than the directions state. I used a 3 QT glass baking pan (therefore shallower) and cooked it for about 40 minutes (stirring a few times throughout). Finishing uncovered for the last 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
As others have said, the finished product is delicious but the timing is WAY off. I omitted the tomatoes and added 1/2 tsp salt. Then I baked it covered for 45 minutes and uncovered for 10. It was not quite as good as stove-top prepared Risotto, but it was so easy to make. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Ok, so, I loved the end results BUT I recommend using either a non-stick pan/dish, or LOTS of oil/butter/non-stick spray.... I loved teh tastebut left more than half stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashtaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States