Oven-Baked Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made it for my company party and it was a hit. I do recomend a little salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Fantastic recipe, and easily altered for different flavours. Excellent if you want a filling, tasty dish on a low, low budget
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This recipe ended up being really good, but it was ALL wrong. The cook time took at least twice as long... There was so much liquid, the rice didn't cook in 40 minutes and I wouldn't recommend uncovering it before all the liquid is soaked up by the rice because then it creates a nasty crust on top from the milk. I used a can of cream of chicken & mushroom & didn't have any parsley. It was very delicious in the end but adjust your cook time accordingly. Now that I think of it maybe mine took so long because I put it in a different baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadNewsBears777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I have made this several time and love it. It always comes out perfect. I do add fresh mushrooms to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was by far the easiest recipe and very tasty! I did add some garlic and onions precooked to the mix. Other than that I didn't change anything else. Plus my kids love it too. I have already had one person from work ask me for the recipe. Thanks for making my life that much easier. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
it was a nice quick dish but I think it is more a pilaf than a risotto. My husband had seconds and requested I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The timing on this recipe is off - it definitely needed more time in the oven. Also, the end result was fairly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It is not bad... I mean I've had better risotto, but for a super easy oven baked version I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
As others have said, the finished product is delicious but the timing is WAY off. I omitted the tomatoes and added 1/2 tsp salt. Then I baked it covered for 45 minutes and uncovered for 10. It was not quite as good as stove-top prepared Risotto, but it was so easy to make. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This is ultimate comfort food. Good thing I made this the night my boyfriend broke up with me, ha. I only rated it a 3, because it was good AFTER doing what many people in the reviews did. I precooked 1 onion, chopped, 2 cups-ish mushrooms, and a couple handfuls of frozen spinach and added them to the mix, and also added tomatoes (didn't have sun-dried) and 2 cloves minced garlic (used plain cream of mushroom without garlic). I also added a little bit of vegetable broth to add moisture, like 1/3 cup or so. I also put in way more parmesan, but that's because I like cheese. Also, add salt to your taste and plenty of Italian seasoning or fresh herbs of your choice, because it will be bland without it. I didn't have the pan the recipe asked for, but I just used a 13x9 nonstick baking pan and it was fine. DEFINITELY cook for way longer. I cooked for 45-50 minutes covered and then 11 minutes uncovered afterwards. Also, the recipe says you can use long grain rice... that's false. DO NOT use long grain rice. MAYBE use another short grain rice if you don't have arborio. But if you don't have either, then don't waste your time, else you'll be disappointed with the result. I learned that before with risotto. Good thing about risotto is that it's versatile so you can get rid of some of the extra produce in your fridge and play around with combinations, and besides the splurge on arborio rice, it's (college) budget friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States