Oven-Baked Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Made this last night with fried chicken. Did not have any sun-dried tomato, so I just used the cream of mushroom soup and threw in some fresh chopped garlic and some dried onion and fresh spinach and Parmesan cheese. Baked it for 40 minutes as others suggested, and stirred after 30 minutes. Added a little extra parm at the end and it turned out delish! I usually have left overs as my husband is not a big risotto fan, but had no left overs last night. Great recipe!! Will definitely cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Great basic recipe. I added sautéed onions, garlic, basil, oregano, and canned tomatoes. Used a cup of white sauce instead of the canned soup to make it healthier. Forgot the parmesan at the end, and it was still great. Will use this as a base -- exactly what I was looking for! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Great, easy side dish. I substitued Cream of Celery soup for the mushroom soup (my big Sis HATES mushrooms) and added some garlic and fresh parsley. I also recommend waiting until the end to stir in all the parmesan cheese - it will solve the "sticking" problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My non-risotto liking husband changed his tune with this one! Didn't have sundried tomatoes on hand, so used bite sized pieces of mushrooms that i had pre-cooked in a fry pan. I increased the garlic too. As others had indicated, it took slightly longer than the directions state. I used a 3 QT glass baking pan (therefore shallower) and cooked it for about 40 minutes (stirring a few times throughout). Finishing uncovered for the last 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Ok, so, I loved the end results BUT I recommend using either a non-stick pan/dish, or LOTS of oil/butter/non-stick spray.... I loved teh tastebut left more than half stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashtaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This is ultimate comfort food. Good thing I made this the night my boyfriend broke up with me, ha. I only rated it a 3, because it was good AFTER doing what many people in the reviews did. I precooked 1 onion, chopped, 2 cups-ish mushrooms, and a couple handfuls of frozen spinach and added them to the mix, and also added tomatoes (didn't have sun-dried) and 2 cloves minced garlic (used plain cream of mushroom without garlic). I also added a little bit of vegetable broth to add moisture, like 1/3 cup or so. I also put in way more parmesan, but that's because I like cheese. Also, add salt to your taste and plenty of Italian seasoning or fresh herbs of your choice, because it will be bland without it. I didn't have the pan the recipe asked for, but I just used a 13x9 nonstick baking pan and it was fine. DEFINITELY cook for way longer. I cooked for 45-50 minutes covered and then 11 minutes uncovered afterwards. Also, the recipe says you can use long grain rice... that's false. DO NOT use long grain rice. MAYBE use another short grain rice if you don't have arborio. But if you don't have either, then don't waste your time, else you'll be disappointed with the result. I learned that before with risotto. Good thing about risotto is that it's versatile so you can get rid of some of the extra produce in your fridge and play around with combinations, and besides the splurge on arborio rice, it's (college) budget friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
As others have said, the finished product is delicious but the timing is WAY off. I omitted the tomatoes and added 1/2 tsp salt. Then I baked it covered for 45 minutes and uncovered for 10. It was not quite as good as stove-top prepared Risotto, but it was so easy to make. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It is not bad... I mean I've had better risotto, but for a super easy oven baked version I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The timing on this recipe is off - it definitely needed more time in the oven. Also, the end result was fairly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
it was a nice quick dish but I think it is more a pilaf than a risotto. My husband had seconds and requested I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States