Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Absolutely delicious. The flavor was soooo good! I did what other reviewers suggested by cooking the rice first. I won't do it next time as I found the rice to be somewhat mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodgson668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Great flavor, however I HALVED the recipe and cooked it for 2+ hours and it still wasn't done. The rice was as hard as when I first put it in the pan, and thats with increasing the temp to 375. I've never made jambalaya before, but don't think I will be anytime soon. It was such a disappointment. But this recipe does provide a great base with amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Good basic recipe for this Paul Prudhomme classic. Use converted rice so it cooks fully and dosn't over cook the sea food in the prescribed baking time.If you check out Pauls recipe, thats what he uses. You can use regular rice if you exclude the seafood. Made this every day at an oyster bar down south and it transfers well to catering large groups, or bringing out to hunting camp. Try your own spice blend though and I bet you will like it even better. Best served the next day and freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was really good! I reduced the serving size by half, yet I still didn't have a pan large enough! We don't own a roasting pan, so as I was putting it in a casserole dish my mother asked if she needed to go out and buy a roasting pan! Since it was near over-flowing, and I hadn't added the rice.. I had her go out and purchase one. Anyway. It isn't very spicy, so for next time I'd add more creole seasoning, some cayenne, something. I'd also cook the shrimp as directed on the bag, and then toss it in once the rest was done, as the shrimp was over-cooked. It was delicious though, and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
i only made half the recipe since there were only 6 of us for dinner. used diced tomatoes instead of whole ones, skipped the ham, didn't pre-cook chicken and it turned out great! it came out juicy. a few suggestions though: 1. make sure you use a BIG pan. i used a large roasting pan, instead of my usual 9x13 pyrex dish. 2. like other reviews, add shrimp during the last 15 mins. 3. do not substitute short grain rice, it will get mushy! i used basmati rice to get fluffy results. thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocoLady
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I will definately be making this one again! Jambalaya just the way I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Pre-heat the stock & tomato almost to a boil, that's the trick of it. YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
AWESOME!! Don't hesitate to make this dish. Some of the reviews say it's too time consuming. I didn't find it to be. If you're concerned about time you could use pre-cooked meats and just toss into the pot. I actually cooked my chicken in the same pot I used in the oven. Thought it might help develop richer flavors. The only things I did different from the recipe was to use brown rice and I cooked it 15 minutes longer than time stated. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Maenpa-Pavey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Fantastic! The best Jambalaya recipe I have ever tried. Hats off to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatyana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Easy to make. Absolutely delicious. Served with Louisiana Hot Sauce. I am full, and drooling for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmikmik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States