Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was good and the whole family enjoyed it. I halved the recipe and thus cut out some steps, after initial saute, I just threw everything into my Rachael Ray ovenproof pan and let it rip. Also subbed large prawns for pre cooked shrimp, chicken tenderloins for store bought rotisserie and Evergood Pineapple sausage for andouille, which helped control the heat of the dish a bit as I have a 3 year old that doesn't yet appreciate very spicy food that the rest of the family does. I also used the recommended link for the creole spice mix and just eased up on the cayenne and white pepper. An overall winner that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was excellent and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Turinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I throw an annual mardi gras party, and this dish is a life saver! You don't need to be exacting when you chop the veggies or the meat, so don't spend a ton of time on chopping. There's a lot of veggies here, so if you're not fast with a knife, the prep time will be longer. Also, note the recipe calls for pre-cooked meats. If you don't have precooked meats, go ahead an poach some chicken breasts while you're chopping veggies! Lastly, I like to cover my dish with foil, and put the lid on it. If steam is getting out because your seal isn't tight enough, then your rice won't cook all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent!!! Love the Creole seasoning. I made a big batch and use this seasoning in many other ways. Add white and brown sugar and dried mustard to some of it and rub it on ribs. I used the Baked BBQ Baby Back recipe on All Recipes. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This worked brilliantly and was a huge hit at my party. I used chorizo as andouille is unavailable in England. I also used cajun seasoning (ditto) but I have actually eaten Jambalaya in New Orleans and this tasted authentic to me. I've also adapted it for the slow cooker - I use brown rice in the crock as you end up with a better consistency somehow. It was a happy but accidental doscovery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I halved the recipe and it truly turned out perfect - used long grain parboiled rice, left the juice in a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes and used 3 cups chicken broth - this is totally flavourfull! Everyone loves it and now my only jambalaya recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This recipe was fabtabulous! I made a few adjustments to the Creole Seasoning Blend and the Jambalaya to suit our tastes and oven :) *I added 2-3 tbsp (I think) of Cajun seasoning to increase the kick of the Creole Seasoning Blend and extra cayenne pepper (possibly another tbsp or 2). *I increased the garlic to 8 cloves. *Instead of using 2-28oz cans of whole peeled tomatoes, I substituted 4-14oz cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes with garlic. *I lowered the chicken stock to 6 cups *I used parboiled rice instead of long grain. Cooking time for me was two hours and I stirred it once at the halfway point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I cooked the rice separately which worked really well since I had leftovers, but forgot to leave out the chicken broth from the main mix so my dish was a little soupier than expected. It was still delicious, easy to make and got good reviews from my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal. I wasn't happy with all my meat choices at my grocer so I just used shrimp and Italian sausage that I cooked separately prior to adding them to the sauteed veggies, garlic and tomato paste. Since I had less meat, I put in less seasonings, tomatoes, rice and broth (about half). I kept it all on the stovetop so I could monitor the rice. Turned out exactly as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States