Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent!!! Love the Creole seasoning. I made a big batch and use this seasoning in many other ways. Add white and brown sugar and dried mustard to some of it and rub it on ribs. I used the Baked BBQ Baby Back recipe on All Recipes. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This worked brilliantly and was a huge hit at my party. I used chorizo as andouille is unavailable in England. I also used cajun seasoning (ditto) but I have actually eaten Jambalaya in New Orleans and this tasted authentic to me. I've also adapted it for the slow cooker - I use brown rice in the crock as you end up with a better consistency somehow. It was a happy but accidental doscovery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I halved the recipe and it truly turned out perfect - used long grain parboiled rice, left the juice in a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes and used 3 cups chicken broth - this is totally flavourfull! Everyone loves it and now my only jambalaya recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This recipe was fabtabulous! I made a few adjustments to the Creole Seasoning Blend and the Jambalaya to suit our tastes and oven :) *I added 2-3 tbsp (I think) of Cajun seasoning to increase the kick of the Creole Seasoning Blend and extra cayenne pepper (possibly another tbsp or 2). *I increased the garlic to 8 cloves. *Instead of using 2-28oz cans of whole peeled tomatoes, I substituted 4-14oz cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes with garlic. *I lowered the chicken stock to 6 cups *I used parboiled rice instead of long grain. Cooking time for me was two hours and I stirred it once at the halfway point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I cooked the rice separately which worked really well since I had leftovers, but forgot to leave out the chicken broth from the main mix so my dish was a little soupier than expected. It was still delicious, easy to make and got good reviews from my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal. I wasn't happy with all my meat choices at my grocer so I just used shrimp and Italian sausage that I cooked separately prior to adding them to the sauteed veggies, garlic and tomato paste. Since I had less meat, I put in less seasonings, tomatoes, rice and broth (about half). I kept it all on the stovetop so I could monitor the rice. Turned out exactly as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I cut the recipe in half left out the Tomato paste and used three cups of rice, two cups of broth, and only 1 TBSP of Creole seasoning. I may have been heavy on the meat portions because I love meat! I used TC's Creole Seasoning and it appeared a bit hot for my liking so I cut that back to 1TSP. I use cast iron cookware, so I used my 8" dutch oven from the stove top to the oven, it worked so well. I forgot to stir it during the cooking and thought at first it was a bit mushy but after I stirred it (I let it cook for 1-3/4 hrs at 350) I left the lid off and let it set for about ten minutes and it was perfect. I mean perfect! Very delicious. I left the tomato paste out because my wife doesn't like so much tomato. I also cut the liquid to only two cups of broth because we use Tia Jasmin rice and it must be washed so I use it wet and I find that a one to one ratio on that rice is about perfect in my rice cooker so I use that as default for that rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is a great recipe! Delicious. I didn't end up putting it in the oven though, just left it in the pot and left on low heat in the pot and it turned out perfect. For the rice, I half cooked it as the recipe on the box stated, then put the rice and water in the Jumbalaya with the tomatoes and it wasn't mushy at all. Thank you for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Delicious - followed recipe except - left out the ham and used raw shrimp instead of cooked, diced tomatoes instead of whole and instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Floral Park, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States