Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very good flavor. I prepared a half recipe, which was enough for 5 adults, with a lot of leftovers. My only problem was that I didn't care for the texture of the shrimp. Next time, to keep it tender, I will just stir the thawed cooked shrimp in for the last few minutes to heat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I was visiting my cousin and he was going to be late so I decided to make this for him - risky since I've never made it before! He didn't have a large enough oven-safe dish so I ended up having to make this stove top - it turned out AMAZING. I didn't have Creole seasoning, but concocted my own version using chile powder/cayenne/chipotle and some BBQ sauce. I only used one can of tomatoes with the juice (I like mine a bit less saucy)and added a red pepper. I cannot rave about this enough - it's probably one of the best things I've ever made. It was a huge hit and will be a regular part of my menu. (Though, he's going to have leftovers for the next six weeks!) Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
After an hour and a half of baking, my rice was still crunchy, so I baked it an additional 30 minutes and that made it mushy. I think next time I will use wild rice because it has a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
If you like spicy, you'll love the flavor. I added hot sausage as well. Very tasty! Leave plenty of time for prep work and cooking. Rice didn't cook well, even after two hours. Next time, I will try to pre-cook rice using some of the broth from the bake and adding it to the bake in the end. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was very impressive. It was a little too spicy for the kids, but will definetly make this again. I'm not even sure I would reduce the amount of creole seasonings, because my husband and I loved it as is. This make a lot of food. We froze half the recipe for later, (Hopefully it will freeze well) and we ate several meals all week from the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Yum! I found this needed a bit more liquid - so I scaled the recipe to 1/2 and added 6 cups of chicken broth. I also found that it needed a substantially longer time to cook as the rice wasn't done in 1 1/2 hours. I may try it next time in the crockpot - but really good flavor, but needs some adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I didn't add sausage, ham, or shrimp (hubby doesn't do shrimp) but the flavor with the chicken was excellent! My husband says it could use a bit more spice, such as cayenne. But I loved it and will definitely be making again... hopefully with shrimp one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I had no shrimp, and used chorizo instead of anduille.. and canadian bacon instead of ham.. Still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I made this on the stove top instead of in the oven, cooked my rice separately, and left out the shrimp, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. It wasn't *quite* what I expected - I don't know what that was though! LOL I thought the sauce kinda tasted like marinara sauce. I don't like marinara sauce much, so I thought it was just ok, but my hubby gobbled up two bowls and even offered to eat the left overs - he has never, EVER eaten left overs before! I have to give it 4 stars for that, no matter what I thought! I will make this again, I just might have to change the seasonings a bit to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This could have been a 5star recipe for taste, however this was such a DISASTER to make. Like the reviewer below me, i ended up dumping the entire dish. I scaled it down to 8 and followed the recipe to a T. Even after 1 hour, my rice was still crunchy. (mind you i scaled this down by 1/2!) To make a long story short,the texture was a mess!! And NO its not my stove. I NEVER have issues with baking time, EVER. I was so disappointed. I took one bite and tossed the rest in the garbage. Total waste of ingredients.BUT on a positive note.. i really liked the ingredients the recipe calls for and i thought the taste was really good. I am going to attempt this again tomorrow because i think this can be great. Next time, i will scale it down to 4 and cook it on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States