Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very good flavor. I prepared a half recipe, which was enough for 5 adults, with a lot of leftovers. My only problem was that I didn't care for the texture of the shrimp. Next time, to keep it tender, I will just stir the thawed cooked shrimp in for the last few minutes to heat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I was visiting my cousin and he was going to be late so I decided to make this for him - risky since I've never made it before! He didn't have a large enough oven-safe dish so I ended up having to make this stove top - it turned out AMAZING. I didn't have Creole seasoning, but concocted my own version using chile powder/cayenne/chipotle and some BBQ sauce. I only used one can of tomatoes with the juice (I like mine a bit less saucy)and added a red pepper. I cannot rave about this enough - it's probably one of the best things I've ever made. It was a huge hit and will be a regular part of my menu. (Though, he's going to have leftovers for the next six weeks!) Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
After an hour and a half of baking, my rice was still crunchy, so I baked it an additional 30 minutes and that made it mushy. I think next time I will use wild rice because it has a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
If you like spicy, you'll love the flavor. I added hot sausage as well. Very tasty! Leave plenty of time for prep work and cooking. Rice didn't cook well, even after two hours. Next time, I will try to pre-cook rice using some of the broth from the bake and adding it to the bake in the end. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was very impressive. It was a little too spicy for the kids, but will definetly make this again. I'm not even sure I would reduce the amount of creole seasonings, because my husband and I loved it as is. This make a lot of food. We froze half the recipe for later, (Hopefully it will freeze well) and we ate several meals all week from the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Yum! I found this needed a bit more liquid - so I scaled the recipe to 1/2 and added 6 cups of chicken broth. I also found that it needed a substantially longer time to cook as the rice wasn't done in 1 1/2 hours. I may try it next time in the crockpot - but really good flavor, but needs some adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I didn't add sausage, ham, or shrimp (hubby doesn't do shrimp) but the flavor with the chicken was excellent! My husband says it could use a bit more spice, such as cayenne. But I loved it and will definitely be making again... hopefully with shrimp one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I had no shrimp, and used chorizo instead of anduille.. and canadian bacon instead of ham.. Still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I made this on the stove top instead of in the oven, cooked my rice separately, and left out the shrimp, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. It wasn't *quite* what I expected - I don't know what that was though! LOL I thought the sauce kinda tasted like marinara sauce. I don't like marinara sauce much, so I thought it was just ok, but my hubby gobbled up two bowls and even offered to eat the left overs - he has never, EVER eaten left overs before! I have to give it 4 stars for that, no matter what I thought! I will make this again, I just might have to change the seasonings a bit to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This could have been a 5star recipe for taste, however this was such a DISASTER to make. Like the reviewer below me, i ended up dumping the entire dish. I scaled it down to 8 and followed the recipe to a T. Even after 1 hour, my rice was still crunchy. (mind you i scaled this down by 1/2!) To make a long story short,the texture was a mess!! And NO its not my stove. I NEVER have issues with baking time, EVER. I was so disappointed. I took one bite and tossed the rest in the garbage. Total waste of ingredients.BUT on a positive note.. i really liked the ingredients the recipe calls for and i thought the taste was really good. I am going to attempt this again tomorrow because i think this can be great. Next time, i will scale it down to 4 and cook it on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States