Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
AMAZING!! I used Market Day tail off shrimp with garlic and herbs instead of butter and garlic. I cooked them first but kept the juices/seasonings and then cooked the celery in the juices. I also added a bag of frozen corn. No onion. andouille sausage in the juices and then cooked chicken in the combination of the garlic shrimp/sausage pan drippings. While I was preparing the rest of the meal, I put the cooked shrimp in the freezer since it calls for cooked frozen shrimp. I went a little lighter on the rice and used whole grain brown rice. Perfect. I added 1 lg. can of SW vegetable soup and cut back on 2 cups of chicken broth. Spices: Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning Original Shaker, Chipotle chili powder and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Loved it!!! Cooked rice seperately. Too spicy for my husband and daughter but I loved it just the way it was. My father was visiting when I made it and I thought it would be too spicy for him but he loved it. He went back for seconds. Will cut back on the Creole seasoning next time I make it so my family can enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I had made this once before following recipe to a T and it turned out great. Today I decided to try it again. I did a couple of changes due to availability of certain items, and a couple of tweaks of my own. I sauteed the veggies in a little bit of butter, but no way near 1/2 c., I think that is excessive. I also added a pinch of the Creole Seasoning Blend (made according to the recipe and I highly recommend you use this rather than store bought) to the sauteeing veggies and it added just the right hint of taste to them. Used 2 cans of diced tomatoes (easier than breaking up whole ones), followed the rest of the recipe. But as far as meats go, I used a rotisserie chicken bought at our grocery's deli, used fully cooked chicken sausage with garlic and herbs (can't find andouille in these parts), 3 large ham steaks, fully cooked already, just sliced them up, and kept the frozen shrimp. I put some of the recipe w/o the shrimp (son-in-law allergic) in a separate casserole dish, and the rest fit into a large roasting pan (an All Clad turkey roasting pan without the rack) However I found out while cooking the roasting pan jambalaya was no where near as hot (temp wise) as the smaller casserole I'm presuming due to the thickness of the pan. It worked better with a tin foil roaster I bought in the grocery store. The rice cooked up beautifully, I did not have a problem with it at all. I did put the shrimp in right at the beginning as they were still partially frozen, they tasted fine, n
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was the first time I made jambalaya. It's a decent recipe and certainly a good base to start from if you want to play around with it. I found that I had to raise the temp to 375 for about 30 minutes at the end to get the rice to cook - it really has to be boiling. Good as it is, I think I'll try a few others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I've made this recipe several times and each time it comes out better. I adjust the ingredients depending on my guests (some don't like spicy, so I tone it down). I also add kiebalsa sausage, shrimp and chicken. It is very good for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I had leftover ham from Christmas and was looking through the recipes that used ham and I am glad that I found this one. The flavors in this recipe are just fantastic! I do have a warning though . . . the recipe says "squeeze tomatoes to break up into pieces" and being that I normally cut them with my cooking scissors, I was very excited to try this method. Tomato number two did me in, I squeezed it and it 'popped'. I laughed for about a half an hour because that's how long it took me to get the tomato juices off of my floor, walls and ceiling. After that, I dumped all of the tomatoes into the roaster and then squeezed them with my hand inside the empty 28 ounce tomato can. I will be making this again because it is DELICIOUS . . . but I'll probably go back to cutting the tomatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Thank you Joslyn!! I made this (full recipe) for a potluck this weekend, and it was a hit! I DID need to increase cooking time (total 2 hours and 15 min.) I stirred it every 20min. I used Uncle Ben's converted rice, and the consistency was perfect. I DID use frozen cooked shrimp, but instead of adding them at the beginning I thawed them and put in fridge with an extra 1 t. Creole seasoning (used Emeril's "Bayou Blast"), then added to the pot during last 15 min. The only other change was to add more bell pepper (about 2 c.): I used 3 small peppers (red, yellow, green), and did not seem to be too much. Rave reviews. One guest recommended that I "try that jambalya," it was so good. He did'nt know I cooked it! Next time I will use low-sodium broth and low-sodium tomatoes. I agree with some reviewers that with the ham and sausage and salty seasoning it was a tiny bit on the salty side. I will also use spicier sausage (I used reduced-fat smoked sausage, but was a tad bland). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
If you follow this recipe as written, you will end up with hard rice. But if you increase the temperature at the end of the 1 1/2 hours by about 25 degrees and give it another twenty minutes or so (I didn't keep close track of the time...), the problem is fixed. Perhaps you could just bake it at 375 the whole time to eliminate the problem. I'll try that next time. I think the problem is that the rice has to be boiled at some point. The increase in temperature does that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Very very very good. I made this for a food project for my foods class. The teacher LOVED it. My parents loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniellyyyyyy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Good flavor but a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States