Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is probably the best jambalaya my husband or I have ever tasted, homemade or at a restaurant. What's baffling is how simple the ingredients are! It was also the perfect prep ahead dish. I sauteed everything, added the whole tomatoes with juice and the meat and let everything blend overnight. Next day, simply added the broth & rice and popped it in the oven. I made a half recipe but kept roughly the same amount of meat/shrimp (as my husband is on a low carb diet) and everything still turned out nicely. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe! My suggestions: 1. check at one hour, then every ten minutes until done. I checked at an hour and it was undercooked, but at 1.5 hrs it was overcooked! My fault, not the recipes, so I still give it 5 stars. 2. Add the frozen cooked shrimp AFTER you take it out of the oven. They just need to warm through, not cook any further. I will definately make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnC123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I have made this recipe twice now and it has turned out great both times. I have yet to make it in the oven. The first time my 13 year old son made it in the crockpot, just dumped everything in and let it cook, (it is just that easy!) Last night I made it on the stove top in a dutch oven. I also didn't follow the measurements exactly - each time I had a chicken breast, 2 sausage links, etc. leftover from cooking other meals and I had stuck all that in the freezer. I just pulled them out, adjusted the amounts and make a smaller batch for just the 3 of us. I also used brown rice instead of white. Good flavor and I really like being able to adjust the intensity of the cajun seasoning. This is a good recipe and I will certainly be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Perfect as is! The proportions are 100% accurate. I added chopped bacon at the end. I was worried about the cooked shrimp cooking again for so long, but it worked!! I served this to company, the presentation was beautiful and everyone went back for seconds and thirds! Cook in a huge roasting pan (the one you use for a turkey)! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The cooking times on this recipe are WAY off! If this dish is going to be in the oven for 1 1/2 hours there is no reason to use pre-cooked meat, especially shrimp. When I took it out of the oven, the rice was so overcooked and mushy, the shrimp was shriveled and dry, and the chicken wasn't moist at all. Next time I will use raw chicken, and I will add the rice 20-30 minutes before the end. I will also use raw shrimp and those only need maybe 7-10 minutes to cook altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Never had Jambalaya before so not sure what it's supposed taste like but this was very good. I added my chicken and sausage in raw and added the raw shrimp in the last 15 minutes of cooking. Everything cooked perfectly, I'd think the meat would be way too dried out if you pre-cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Fantastic recipe! It feeds an army so be prepared. I made the cajun seasoning recommended and put in 1/2 the cayenne due to small children. It still had a great flavor and enough kick but not overwhelming. I also used Aidells Cajun Sausage and it was a nice addition. This is definitely a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was very good. I've never had jambalaya before and I really, really liked this. I put too much rice in this so next time I'll use a little bit less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I recently made this for my (sometimes picky) family of 6 and my father-in-law. I started on the stove top, but then transferred everything to the crock pot (thawed shrimp went in during last 10-minutes or so). I made the rice separately. It was put on the table and boy did they eat! There was just enough left to send some home with Dad and still have about 3-4 bowls left for next day's lunch. It's been about 3 weeks since I made it and I'm still getting raves and requests for more! Can't wait to bring it to a holiday pot-luck! Thanks for a great recipe Joslyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Very Good Followed Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States