Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very versatile recipe that makes a boatload of food! Because of "chef shopping error" there were a lot of changes but it didn't hurt the recipe one bit. I would suggest being gentle with the amount of Creole seasoning and add to your preference. I cut the whole recipe in half, and used half minute brown and half regular brown rice. After pre-cooking the regular slightly it was added to the rest of the ingredients according to the recipe (except the shrimp which wasn't frozen) and cooked the whole dish on top of the stove. When it was done the pan was taken off the heat and shrimp dropped in - they cooked perfectly in the hot liquid. Wonderful mean to serve on Mardi Gras - thanks so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I've tested out a few Jambalaya recipes and this was the hands down winner in my house. I used the Creole Seasoning Blend recipe with it. The only thing I did differently was left out the shrimp and ham and doubled the chicken and sausage. The first time I made it I scaled the recipe down to four servings and it only took 30 minutes in the oven. The next time I made the full 16 servings and it took about an hour. I used parboiled long grain rice and had no problems with the rice at all. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
delicious and easy throw everything in the fridge and bake, well almost. tasty and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Yumm, I made this last year... had to come back and find it again because I lost the recipe that I had printed. I made this recipe as is. Yes, it serves alot of people. The recipe states 16 servings. People keep altering the recipe and complaining of a bad outcome... why is that? Some of the reviews of recipes on this site are frustrating for me due to all the changes being made. A true review should be when the recipe is made as is. OK, off my soap box, This recipe is easy and very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren0825

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
husband loved, it i thought it was okay. i didnt use shrimp. i cut down the recipe by half, so i cooked it for a little over an hour. i mixed all the ingredients in a casserole dish, had no problems at all with the rice, it was all cooked through. will make again, for my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberishimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
this is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is probably the best jambalaya my husband or I have ever tasted, homemade or at a restaurant. What's baffling is how simple the ingredients are! It was also the perfect prep ahead dish. I sauteed everything, added the whole tomatoes with juice and the meat and let everything blend overnight. Next day, simply added the broth & rice and popped it in the oven. I made a half recipe but kept roughly the same amount of meat/shrimp (as my husband is on a low carb diet) and everything still turned out nicely. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe! My suggestions: 1. check at one hour, then every ten minutes until done. I checked at an hour and it was undercooked, but at 1.5 hrs it was overcooked! My fault, not the recipes, so I still give it 5 stars. 2. Add the frozen cooked shrimp AFTER you take it out of the oven. They just need to warm through, not cook any further. I will definately make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnC123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I have made this recipe twice now and it has turned out great both times. I have yet to make it in the oven. The first time my 13 year old son made it in the crockpot, just dumped everything in and let it cook, (it is just that easy!) Last night I made it on the stove top in a dutch oven. I also didn't follow the measurements exactly - each time I had a chicken breast, 2 sausage links, etc. leftover from cooking other meals and I had stuck all that in the freezer. I just pulled them out, adjusted the amounts and make a smaller batch for just the 3 of us. I also used brown rice instead of white. Good flavor and I really like being able to adjust the intensity of the cajun seasoning. This is a good recipe and I will certainly be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Perfect as is! The proportions are 100% accurate. I added chopped bacon at the end. I was worried about the cooked shrimp cooking again for so long, but it worked!! I served this to company, the presentation was beautiful and everyone went back for seconds and thirds! Cook in a huge roasting pan (the one you use for a turkey)! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States