Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This recipe has a great taste, but is incredibly hard to cook. If you make this recipe exactly as indicated, it takes at least 2 times the amount of the time indicated by the recipe. The recipe also takes at least 1.5 hours to even prepare. Don't think that I'll make this recipe again just because it's wayyyyyyyy too time consuming and its very hard to make it turn out right especially if you would be an experienced cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This was my first attempt at Jambalaya, and it turned out great! I tossed everything but the rice in the slow cooker for a couple of hours, then cooked the rice and served the Jambalaya over it. This dish was too spicy for my kids, though, so next time will decrease the spices. I don't expect the flavor to diminish at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemomto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
everything was great, but i think i need to figure out a way to make it so the shrimp isn't tough as a result of overcooking. it might be better to throw in the shrimp a few minutes before everything is done. don't follow the times as exactly listed or the rice will become mushed and broken. flavors were wonderful, though. my friends' favorite out of all the dishes i had for a Cajun/Creole picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
The only alterations I made to this were excluding the ham and shrimp, doubling the chicken (which I seasoned with the Creole spices). I decided to try adding the rice instead of cooking it separately and at 1.5hrs it was cooked well (my oven runs really hot), maybe could use more sauce next time even though I halved the recipe. Overall great dish, easy and spicy but not too much! Will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
When I lived on the Gulf Coast I had many a jambalaya but never learned to prepare it myself. I tried this recipe for a Saints Superbowl party this year and am convinced that this dish is what sealed the victory. Okay, maybe not, but it was great. I used Tony Chachere's instead of Creole Seasoning Blend and I am sure I put in more than 3 tablespoons. I also threw in quite a bit of Louisiana Hot Sauce. And I omitted the ham. I don't feel like the ham adds anything to the dish. It was amazing!!! Everyone at the party loved it. Very authentic for an oven baked recipe, which I think is easier to prepare than the stove-top version. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cub
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a really good recipe. My only complaint is that I followed the recipe perfectly and the rice did not cook all the way through. Aside from that, it was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was very good!!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This turned out very good. The only change I would make in the future is to leave out the shrimp until the final 20 minutes. The shrimp were definitely over done. Other than that, a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I quartered this recipe for the 2 of us and have enough leftovers for one. I only added 1/3 of the tomato juices and used Cajun seasoning instead of Creole. The rice was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very versatile recipe that makes a boatload of food! Because of "chef shopping error" there were a lot of changes but it didn't hurt the recipe one bit. I would suggest being gentle with the amount of Creole seasoning and add to your preference. I cut the whole recipe in half, and used half minute brown and half regular brown rice. After pre-cooking the regular slightly it was added to the rest of the ingredients according to the recipe (except the shrimp which wasn't frozen) and cooked the whole dish on top of the stove. When it was done the pan was taken off the heat and shrimp dropped in - they cooked perfectly in the hot liquid. Wonderful mean to serve on Mardi Gras - thanks so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States