Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Excellent Dish! I love the ease of one dish meals. I halved the recipe, as I was cooking for a small number of people. The changes I made was to use regular smoked sausage (andouille was not available) and I added 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup (undiluted). I think the tomato paste and one can of the tomatoes need to be eliminated. I will do this the next time I make this recipe - (too much acid for us from the the amount of tomatoes). All in all, a great recipe! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: West Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
this recipe is very forgiving. have made several times for my extended family. I cook the rice on stove,and spoon jambalaya over the rice. I add more onion and extra chicken,uncooked. add shrimp last 10 to 15 minutes. great reheated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Fabulous! I did not use shrimp since I do not care for shrimp. I did use the creole seasoning suggested in the recipe. I did use brown rice and used only one pot for everything. The sausage is a must. It really added a kick to the dish. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I made this recipe for the first time tonight. The flavor was excellent. After reading some reviews, I decided to change the way I cook rice. First, I soaked my rice in chicken broth for several hours. My Japanese mom always soaks rice in water before cooking so the rice comes out more tender. It turned out to be a smart choice. Next, being a lazy person that I am, I decided to cook everything in my Le Creuset French oven (one big pot to wash vs. a pot and a casserole dish :o) ) Lastly, I didn't care for the shrimp being rubbery from being overcooked so next time, I will add it towards the end of the cooking (maybe cook it for only 10 minutes to heat) just to heat through (since it's already cooked, it doesn't need to be cooked for a long time and when shrimp gets cooked too long, it doesn't taste as good as when it's cooked just long enough.) With those adjustments, I think the dish will be a five star dish! Thanks JOSLYN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Takes awhile to make, and awhile to cook, but it tastes great and even our two toddlers loved it! Unless you have a family of 12 you may want to make this for company, half the recipe for a regular night, or freeze half after making. We froze half and it tasted great when we took it back out and reheated it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is wonderful. Just cook the rice separately...no need to panic. I add fresh shrimp and diced, fresh fish about 20 minutes before it's done. Ham is good too...I just like the fresh fish option better. I put the diced chicken in raw at the beginning, and it comes out perfectly. I also use kielbasa sausage (no andouille at the local Wal-Mart) and it's fabulous. Man, this is awesome stuff, and easy to make, even for a regular dude like me. I made it for a dozen family members and there wasn't much left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was very tasty but be warned that this makes A LOT! I didn't have ham and eliminated the broth since I was cooking the rice separately. There was plenty of juice from the veggies to make this like a very thick stew. Also, I cooked everything in my cast iron dutch oven then took it straight to the oven for baking (reduces cleanup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This took a LONG time to prepare. Lots of chopping and measuring. But that said.... It was WONDERFUL! I cut the recipe in half (for 8) and it was still a LOT! Next time I will add the rice a little later or cut down on the cooking time. Maybe add more of the creole seasoning, too! WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
The recipes tasted very good but it took longer then 45 minutes to prepare everything. The issue was like everyone else, the rice came out terrible even if we stirred it frequently. It was either mushy in some places and raw in others. Next time we'll make the rice separately and I think it will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Five stars because the entire family thought it was great, even my teenager who generally dislikes "spicy". Yes, I did experience the same complaints as others in that the rice was mushy in areas, mainly the bottom, but it really was delicious in spite of this. It made for many leftovers even after cutting the recipe in half. If I could perfect this to look like the picture above, it would definitely be worth serving for company. Made Adrienne's Cucumbers and Cheddar Biscuits as sides, both are equally delicious recipes from Allrecipes and complement the Jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States