Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I prepared this in my slow cooker with the addition of 1 T each of oregano and parsley, 1 tsp of cayenne and 1/2 tsp of thyme. I loved the flavor added by these extra spices and, next time, I'll up my addition of cayenne from 1 tsp to 1 tablespoon. But, I goofed up when after I added the rice in what I'd intended as the last half-hour of cooking and then I fell asleep. So, what I ended up with was a fantastic flavored mushy rice. Totally my fault. Not only did I cook the rice (and chicken, andouille and shrimp) FAR too long, but it was even worse because I used the minute rice I'd bought when I intended to cook another recipe so there was no forgiveness in cooking time. Still giving this 5 stars because it would have been amazing if I hadn't made such a bad mistake. I'll definitely make this again with the proper type of rice and cooking it for the appropriate length of time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This had a wonderful flavor, but Joel didn't care for it as much. (Tomatoey) Bunco people loved it. Made a LOT, and didn't bake well. I had to put in a stock pot on the stove to finish. Could've been the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLFAIRBANKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
4.5 Stars: I was so concerned about the reviews saying the rice does not cook that I made it early in the day. The rice cooked perfectly, so by the time I served it that night, it was a little mushy. We have a shellfish allergy, so I increased other meats and left out shrimp. She did not like it anyway, so I will use shrimp next time. We all agreed this had a good flavor and I thought it was pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I loved this recipe - I made a few substitutions - instead of addding shrimp, I added additional sausage and chicken. I used Johnson's chicken sausage (italain/hot variety). I also made my own creole seasoning by searching for Emeril's recipe, also on the web. Made this in my dutch oven and my whole family loved it - I halved the recipe and still had tons of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I just got back from New Orleans and fell in love with Jambalaya. I just had to try it myself. This recipe is SPOT ON !! I tried it on my friends for Superbowl and they had second servings. I have one suggestion. Some of the writers suggested to put the shrimp in 15 minutes before completed and I strongly disagree as raw shrimp should not be added to cooked foods. Insatead, cook the shrimp separately and add to the rice 5 minutes before complete. Also, I added a little bit of broth on the half time turn to keep it moist as I noticed it was drying up and still needed more cooking time. I also used Parboiled rice. I will definately keep making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I have been making this recipe for quite some time and everyone loves it. My daughter always requests this for her birthday dinner and my nephew insists it be on the table for Christmas Eve. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
this was a fantastic recipe and a big hit with the "eaters". I suggest fork-pullling the chicken instead of cubing for a more authentic look and feel. I also cooked with a bit of Tabasco for some added heat and smokiness. I omitted pork products and used chicken andouille and increased other proteins to make up for no ham...wanted to keep the ratios right. So good! I will be making this the next time I need to bring a dish to a party or tailgate. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Didn't think of stirring this occasionally, but came out great just the same. I forgot to add the chicken, and since I don't like shrimp, had to go by hearsay, but the kids ate several bowl fulls (teens), and the adults are still raving about it (made it 2 days ago). The only thing I did differently, was I used 2 tbls instead of 3 for the creole spice since it appeared to be so salty. Which seems to be a good thing with left overs, since it has gotten spicier with age, and is even better the next day. Just a great recipe, thank you for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Disappointed.... I will first say that it tastes delicious...but I followed the recipe EXACT...and the RICE did not cook thru. I waited til halfway thru..still hard...waited even longer...still hard. I don't know what else to do to make it cook thru. I even uncovered it...seems to work a little bit that way but its still hard, sooo we will have to have Thanksgiving dinner without it, or not til way later....I am staying at the house while the family gets together (they are using their oven) b/c its not done. :( :( :( Any suggestions for next time would be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Love this recipe and will make forever! Lol :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.RahnG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States