Oven Baked Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Really good and pretty easy. Sauted in olive oil. Used diced tomatoes. Took longer to cook than stated. Think it might have been double. Add a little Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K Lightfoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palestine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Wow, this was easily the best jambalaya I've ever made. It was easy, too. I did vary the steps in the recipe a bit. I did everything through adding the rice exactly as written, but didn't add the protein yet. I covered the pan tightly with foil and baked for around an hour and a half. Before serving, I browned the sliced sausage (I used turkey kielbasa because that's what was in the freezer and I'm not sure my kids would eat andouille), sauteed the spice-dusted shrimp (used the Creole spice mix), and sauteed the chicken (leftover rotisserie chicken from the supermarket). Added all the meat/shrimp, stirred well, and threw it back in the oven to keep warm. It was really tasty, but not muddy-tasting, and not too spicy (I toned it down the cayenne a tiny bit for my family). The rice cooked perfectly, and the meat didn't get overdone. Definitely a keeper for my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This dish is so wonderful! Hearty, comfort food, flavorful, very special treat in our house! I cook the rice separately (in the broth) like others suggest and then add it to the rest of the ingredients after they have been baked. If we don't have shrimp, I add more chicken to replace it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is the first review I've ever written, and only because this has become our favourite recipe. We look forward to it every few weeks. I've done everything exactly as written including the DIY creole seasoning. The only change I made was by mistake. I used uncooked meat (chicken, shrimp, sausage) and it turned out perfect. I didn't notice til I went to make it again and read it over. So I decided to keep doing it the same because it turns out wonderful. Thank you for the great recipe! Oh, and we cut it in half and the two of us have meals for the next 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was the best jambalaya I have ever had! I only had medium grain rice, and some diced and stewed tomatoes in the cupboard that I used instead of the whole tomatoes, and I added canned cut okra but other than that I stuck to the recipe including making the suggested creole seasoning blend and it was so fantastic. Yes it made a large portion but it will be a perfect freezer meal as well for when I don't want to cook next. I thought it called for quite abit of meats but I did it anyway and it wasn't too much at all in proportion to the rice. I am very impressed with the recipe and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I was in the mood for Jambalaya and came across this recipe. I have a crock pot recipe that I use when we go camping but this one will be my home recipe. I was going to only make 1/2 the recipe but with the amount of meat I had out I decided to make the full portion. Oh my. The roasting pan I had wasn't big enough so I had to use two restaurant pans my husband uses for his smoker. I used diced tomatoes instead and could have used a 4th one but I only had 3. No big deal. I made the creole seasoning mix that was in the footnote since I already had all the ingredients. That blend had just the right amount of heat for me and really brought out the flavors. It was far better than the creole mix you buy from a store. This recipe was so delicious. When I get a " good" from my husband I know it is good. lol. I was a little iffy about the baking of it but it came out just right......with LOTS of leftovers. Will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Cant eat Chicken, so I substituted bacon and added Okra. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just the right amount of heat. Followed the recipe pretty close - did use the suggested spice blend recipe which was very good. Cooked my rice separately - personal choice because I used brown rice - which left extra broth. I just ladled out the extra broth (which made a wonderful spicy tomato soup for lunch the next day) and added the rice and uncooked shrimp about 15 minutes from the end. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
While cooking it smelled delicious but it could have been the bay leaves but i'm not sure, I just know that this recipe was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Pendleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clewiston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Good recipe. It made a VERY generous 16 people serving. Four people have eaten generously for 2 meals so far, and there's barely a dent. First time I'm making it from scratch (have used mixes in the past), and it's SOooooo....much better than the mix. Used regular beef smoked sausage (the andouille was very high priced at the store) and it was fine. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States