Oven Baked Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This is a very good recipe that can be put together without much effort/work. However, I do recommend melting the butter, mixing in the lemon juice, dipping the chicken in the butter/lemon mixture, then rolling it in the dry ingredient mix. Came out much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Instead of breasts, I used thighs, and I could only find garlic herb dry salad dressing mix. Since some of the other reviewers complained about gumminess when coating the chicken, I first dipped the chicken in the combined butter and lemon juice and then shook them in a bag with the combined flour and dry dressing mix. I poured the extra butter mixture on the bottom of the baking dish. Easy, little mess, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I wasn't sure how to do this recipe since I didn't have cheese and garlic mix. I ended up using Hidden Valley Ranch salad dressing powder mix along with the flour. I also added a little fresh minced onion and garlic as well. I didn't use salt since I thought it would be salty enough, but used ground pepper and squeezed a fresh lemon into the mixture. I let the butter soften before mixing all together. It seemed really dry, so I used a little milk just to take the dryness away. It made it smoother. I spread this over both sides of 2 large chicken breasts, but this could have easily been used for 4-6 breasts. Added more fresh lemon and pepper and baked as directed. 60 minutes was too long, so I had it in for 35-40 minutes or until the coating looked crispy and the chicken tender. I had a little problem with the sauce burning on the bottom of the dish, but the chicken was fine, just make sure and spray your dish. Towards the end of cooking time I added shredded cheddar cheese on top of chicken. This does turn out quite nice if you are willing to take the time to make some changes. I thought it was pretty good and husband liked it. Will probably do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
I used regular Italian dressing instead of the garlic cheese and this dish was wonderful! My husband had seconds, and even my picky kids asked for more. I have already made it twice more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Since I didn't want my coating to be too paste-like, I softened the butter (if you melt it, the coating might become too runny). I used three large chicken breasts instead of six, which might have been a mistake as the flavor was really overwhelming. It was still very good; but the next time I make this, I'm definitely halving the recipe for the coating if I make three chicken breasts OR using six chicken breasts in total (it pays to follow the recipe exactly). However, other family members really loved this chicken and didn't think the flavor was too overpowering as I did. Overall, a quick and easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This chicken was delicious. I used Italian dressing dry seasoning .7oz seasoning package instead. I lightly seasoned both sides of the chicken breast with ground black pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. I took the suggestions of another reviewer and added a little milk to the mixture. The chicken turned out GREAT!!! My husband keep asking me what did I do different to the chicken. We have our own baked chicken recipe that he put together but we both agreed that this one is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I couldn't find the cheese and garlic dry salad dressing mix so I used garlic and herb. My boyfriend loved it and asks me to make it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I also couldn't find the cheese and garlic dry salad dressing and improvised with italian herb turned out great and i loved it. Next time i will look harder for the cheese and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23462

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Couldn't find any other than regular italian seasoning, but it really dressed up the baked chicken! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
My boyfriend and I enjoyed this so much!! We will be making it again. I had to use a ranch salad dressing mix though, because I couldn't find the other in the store. I also onlyy baked it for 45min. It was very tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Baked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States