Oven Baked Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
WOW! thats all you will hear when you serve this one up. the smell while cooking is so intoxicating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
wonderful. big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Excellent! I tried it with just Italian dry salad dressing mix (because my son can't have cheese) and that is great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
I used regular Italian dressing instead of the garlic cheese and this dish was wonderful! My husband had seconds, and even my picky kids asked for more. I have already made it twice more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was excellent!! We made it for a Christmas Dinner for 16 ppl. Everyone commented that this was the best chicken they'd ever had. We added some freshly grated romano cheese to the "paste" mixture that was spread over the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I expected this to turn out better then it did. I think maybe it was the flour, which really turned the butter/herb mixture into a PASTE! The garlic & herb flavor did come across, but I thought the coating's texture was strange. My husband thought it was good so I'm giving it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I found 60 minutes to be way too long to cook this recipe. Chicken breasts were turning brown in 40 minutes. I took them out then and it was slightly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Since I didn't want my coating to be too paste-like, I softened the butter (if you melt it, the coating might become too runny). I used three large chicken breasts instead of six, which might have been a mistake as the flavor was really overwhelming. It was still very good; but the next time I make this, I'm definitely halving the recipe for the coating if I make three chicken breasts OR using six chicken breasts in total (it pays to follow the recipe exactly). However, other family members really loved this chicken and didn't think the flavor was too overpowering as I did. Overall, a quick and easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This chicken tasted great and was so simple. Cooking is usually a disaster for me, but even I could do this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I wasn't sure how to do this recipe since I didn't have cheese and garlic mix. I ended up using Hidden Valley Ranch salad dressing powder mix along with the flour. I also added a little fresh minced onion and garlic as well. I didn't use salt since I thought it would be salty enough, but used ground pepper and squeezed a fresh lemon into the mixture. I let the butter soften before mixing all together. It seemed really dry, so I used a little milk just to take the dryness away. It made it smoother. I spread this over both sides of 2 large chicken breasts, but this could have easily been used for 4-6 breasts. Added more fresh lemon and pepper and baked as directed. 60 minutes was too long, so I had it in for 35-40 minutes or until the coating looked crispy and the chicken tender. I had a little problem with the sauce burning on the bottom of the dish, but the chicken was fine, just make sure and spray your dish. Towards the end of cooking time I added shredded cheddar cheese on top of chicken. This does turn out quite nice if you are willing to take the time to make some changes. I thought it was pretty good and husband liked it. Will probably do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States