Oven Baked Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I didn't have the dry dressing mix, so I made up my own using some mayo, Italian dressing, garlic powder, lemon pepper, and a bit of parsley. I then just continused as the recipe instructed, and topped the breasts with a little monteray jack cheese. They turned out moist and juicy. Very good. I served home made perogies with them. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made this recipe exactly as written. The flavor was very good and the chicken was moist and tender but the paste texture on the top was quite strange. I ended up making it into a light sauce by scrapping it off the chicken, adding water to the roasting pan and boiling. It worked! No more goo and a tasty sauce too. I may add water or cut down on the flour the next time I cook this in order to avoid the paste top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Instead of breasts, I used thighs, and I could only find garlic herb dry salad dressing mix. Since some of the other reviewers complained about gumminess when coating the chicken, I first dipped the chicken in the combined butter and lemon juice and then shook them in a bag with the combined flour and dry dressing mix. I poured the extra butter mixture on the bottom of the baking dish. Easy, little mess, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Hmmm wasnt too sure about this one - I thought it was too salty and I took the mixture off the top before i ate it. Not sure I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I used ranch dressing instead with a little milk plus minced onions and garlic. Quite good I am putting this in my keeper list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Very good! My kids won't eat anything with cheese, so I used ranch dressing mix. Also, great leftover in a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I wasn't sure how to do this recipe since I didn't have cheese and garlic mix. I ended up using Hidden Valley Ranch salad dressing powder mix along with the flour. I also added a little fresh minced onion and garlic as well. I didn't use salt since I thought it would be salty enough, but used ground pepper and squeezed a fresh lemon into the mixture. I let the butter soften before mixing all together. It seemed really dry, so I used a little milk just to take the dryness away. It made it smoother. I spread this over both sides of 2 large chicken breasts, but this could have easily been used for 4-6 breasts. Added more fresh lemon and pepper and baked as directed. 60 minutes was too long, so I had it in for 35-40 minutes or until the coating looked crispy and the chicken tender. I had a little problem with the sauce burning on the bottom of the dish, but the chicken was fine, just make sure and spray your dish. Towards the end of cooking time I added shredded cheddar cheese on top of chicken. This does turn out quite nice if you are willing to take the time to make some changes. I thought it was pretty good and husband liked it. Will probably do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This chicken tasted great and was so simple. Cooking is usually a disaster for me, but even I could do this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Since I didn't want my coating to be too paste-like, I softened the butter (if you melt it, the coating might become too runny). I used three large chicken breasts instead of six, which might have been a mistake as the flavor was really overwhelming. It was still very good; but the next time I make this, I'm definitely halving the recipe for the coating if I make three chicken breasts OR using six chicken breasts in total (it pays to follow the recipe exactly). However, other family members really loved this chicken and didn't think the flavor was too overpowering as I did. Overall, a quick and easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States