Oven Baked BBQ Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I've made this a couple of times and really think it tastes great. I omit most all of the salt. I pour about half the sauce over the ribs and bake covered until the last hour when I uncover and sauce for about an hour (no basting or flipping). Tender, fall off the bone delicousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
715 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I cooked this for Super Bowl LXII (Pats/Giants). When I pulled them out of the oven I took a little chunk out with a fork and tried it. I was completely blown away by the flavor and couldn't believe I cooked them. Even cutting each rib was awesome. The sound the knife made as it cut through the juicy meat, you just knew they were cooked to perfection. I mostly followed the recipe to a T, but had twice the ribs and only 1/2 the ketchup. So I made up the batch of sauce, which was runny like a marinade. I also mixed in a small amount of Famous Dave's Devil's Spit. Covered with foil and baked at around 350 for about 3 hours. Every 30 minutes I came back in an flipped them and poured a little Devil's Spit on or basted with homemade sauce. After about 2 hours I took away the foil. After removing the foil and waiting another 30 minutes, the ribs were really starting to look awesome. By the time I was done I used an entire bottle of Devil's Spit and about 3/4ths of the sauce (which started to thicken, but was still liquidy, had to drain pan). These ribs were so juicy, so tender. I got a lot of compliments, and with the Devil's Spit used (which only helped to enhance the original recipe), they had a little spice/heat to them. But even two little kids who don't like spicy food were eating them. Quite possibly the best dish I've ever cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
440 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These were the best ribs I've ever had. I used inexpensive side ribs. I added half the sauce, then covered tightly with foil and turned the ribs after 1 hour. After cooking for 2 hours, I removed the foil, added the rest of the sauce and spooned extra sauce every 20 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This SO exceeded my expectations! Hubby is a master griller, so I was surprised when he said he was really impressed with these ribs! It may be a little putzy to tend to them every 20 minutes for 3 hours, but it is so worth it. Who would think ketchup, water and a few other simple ingredients could produce such a luxurious sauce? Other than adding a little garlic powder and 2 tsp. of liquid smoke I made these just as the submitter intended. Every time I pulled them out of the oven to baste them they just kept looking better and better! Absolutely beautiful and finger-lickin' good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Awesome!! This is without a doubt the best tasting ribs. I was worried at first about the sauce. Seemed a little thin..but it got thickier as time went on. Followed recipe exactly and everything blended together just right. Fall apart tender. Very juicy. Made double batch of sauce and was just right for two packages of ribs. Family never looked up the whole time we ate. Wish I could give it a ten. Thanks Vicky. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
Great flavor!!! I did cut the salt. 1 teaspoon was plenty and I didn't fuss so much over it in the oven. Basted only a couple times. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I made these last night and they came out really good for oven cooked ribs. I did add about 2 cloves of minced garlic and cut the salt to about 1/2 tsp as 4 sounded like WAY too much. Basted and turned about every 1/2 hour...not too much trouble. DH was suprised how tender & tasty they were. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Finally, a pork rib recipe that resulted in very flavorful, juicy, perfectly cooked ribs. Grilling ribs has never worked well for me - this recipe and cooking instructions resulted in ribs that were cooked (without charring them), but very juicy (yet not greasy), and could be eaten off the bone easily. I prepared about 2 1/4lb pork ribs and prepared half the sauce recipe using sweet onions. I quickly seared the ribs on a baking sheet before basting on the meat-side only and was fairly carful about applying sauce every 20 minutes. I never flipped my ribs and only basted the meat-side. I baked them for approx 2 1/2hrs at 350, then turned off the oven for about 40 minutes - after which, I warmed the ribs at 170F for about 10 minutes before serving. The amount of sauce was right on for my taste, and I wouldn't change the recipe next time as I think it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
We enjoyed these, but I'd like to keep experimenting with other recipes. These require a lot of maintenance and I didn't care for the homemade sauce. It was a bit salty for my taste. My husband didn't say anything bad about them, nor did he say anything good--just ate them (he won't eat anything he doesn't like), so I give these a 3-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This was the best ribs I have ever tasted. The flavor was excellant. I doubled the recipe for two pounds of ribs. I just basted once every half an hour or so and came out very juicy and tender. Was a hit in my house. Family already wanting me to make them next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Oven-Baked BBQ Ribs

No grill? No worries. These baked ribs are juicy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States