Oven Baked BBQ Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I was surprised how this sauce thickened up. The only changes I made is that I replaced half the water with beer (I actually used dark beer) and I added some allspice and a small amount of liquid smoke. I didn't cover this and did flip them every 30 mins. They were totally cooked in 2 1/2 hours. My husband gave them a four but I think he's slanted by thinking of the usual grilled variety of ribs... enjoyed; thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
These ribs came out absolutely amazing! I followed the ingredients exactly. I noticed the directions forget to mention to add the brown sugar to the mix for the BBQ sauce, so I just added it. Also, the directions don't say whether to use foil or not. I cooked the ribs for a total of 3 hours, 2 of those hours I covered the pan with foil (I did not use 2 pans like the directions say.) I basted the ribs every half hour (not every 20 minutes) for the first 2 hours, then took the foil off and basted twice in the last hour. The ribs came out so yummy! Don't worry about the sauce looking watery. The last hour in the oven without foil thickened the BBQ sauce up nicely! Ribs were practically falling off the bone when finished. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nichole
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
So, so good. I made this as stated aside from omitting the salt and adding some liquid smoke. The 20 minute flips were well worth it! Yummy, moist and flavorful meat! My ribs were done about a half an hour "early", but no biggie. I was a little leery of the sauce at first - it was really super thin, but it did thicken up and stick to the ribs nicely during the lengthy cooking time. I will definitely make these again when I am craving ribs have the time to tend to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
this got two stars for the method, not just the bbq sauce. the ribs were dry and yes, the meat detatched itself from the bone but if the meat is dry, it doesn't matter. the bbq sauce was totally watery and what it reduced to was borderline on burning by the end of the third hour. i should have went with my gut and kept the water out of the recipe and used it in the last hour of cooking (but at 250 for several hours as opposed to 350 for three hours). and the onions were just cumbersome to the sauce itself. i should have just used onion powder. i don't know what recipe the other users were making to be so delighted in this but i certainly wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stershic

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
These were delicious and a very easy recipe. I did press 2 cloves of garlic into the sauce as I read in some other reviews. I just poured all of the sauce in when I first started to bake them. I flipped them a few times during the 3 hours of baking. When they were done the meat just will just fall right off the bone. Very good and I will make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBCfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This has been officially dubbed a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
These ribs were good. I wouldn't say great. A little salty and the every 20 minute deal was tedious. I ran out of sauce and I think the oven temp was too high for this amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLAUT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
AMAZING!!! no one could believe there was no actual bbq sauce. I followed the recipe exactly. I was SHOCKED. I will definately be making these again...and the flipping of the ribs every 20 minutes is sooooo worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I followed this recipes as written. I saw some posts concerned with too much salt, but I wasnt able to taste it. The only thing I would suggest is place foil on your pan because the sugars char and it is quite tough to get off. Other than that I gave it 4 stars because it was good. It is quite time consuming to flip every 20 minutes but these were falling off the bone by the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UtesCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was a great tasting sauce and the ribs were falling off the bones. I will definitely be using this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bttrflybabydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Oven-Baked BBQ Ribs

No grill? No worries. These baked ribs are juicy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States