Outrageously Good Holiday Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
With a fresh shipment of grapefruit sent from Florida, I went on a search for some recipe to use them. This is a wonderful salad choice. I made 'Healthier Poppy Seed Salad Dressing for 2' from AR. My favorite ingredients were the combination of the grapefruit and avocado. Kind of tangy meets smooth, and it worked. My dressing choice was good, but the vinegar overpowered just a little. Definitely a salad worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I loved all of the different colors and textures this salad had going on. It was however my first time to try poppy seed salad dressing and I am not a fan but that sure isn't the recipes fault. The presentation of the salad is fit for special company and I will most definitely make this again as written for others and then just find a different dressing that suits my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Made thsi for Easter and have made it several times since...not just a holiday salad! Everyone loves it and asks for recipe. Good tip from other member is to section the grapefruit and sponge with paper towel to avoid too much moisture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I used the fresh, peeled grapefruit in plastic packaged container found in produce section where grocers put fresh veggie and fruit trays and packages...worked out great! I substituted swiss cheese for feta...loved it! I used half of the green onions recipe called for and it was perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Would like to see a homemade dressing. I'm not a fan of bottled dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
The key to the success of this is to remove all of the white membrane from the grapefruit before using it because it does have a bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Loved this! I looked at the ingredients of this salad and my mouth started watering. It's great for the holidays because grapefruit is so delicious this time of year. To avoid the bitterness of the pith and membrane, I just cut the grapefruit in half and scoop out the flesh. If you don't like grapefruit, this is also good with craisins. I do like something a little crunchy in my salads, so I added some cashews. I used the "Poppy Seed Dressing I" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The grapefruit skins give it a bitter taste in each bite. This hasn't worked out for us at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States