Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Yum....I was looking for a classic crumb cake and this was great, esp if you are a "more crumb. less cake" person. I added all crumbs to bake at once instead adding the rest later. I'll add a little more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I used to make this cake all the time and lost the recipe years ago. Only difference - I use the "butter" cake mix. This is the best crumb cake. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I've been making this cake for some time with a few tweaks. I always use a 13 x 9 pan but add one and a half cans of Comstock fruit filling (cherry, blueberry and apple seem to always be the biggest hits) on top of the baked cake, then press the crumb mixture on top of that..and bake the rest of the way. Thank you for jogging my memory about the vanilla extract. Doing it from memory..the crumb mixture seemed to be missing something. Now I know! I get rave reviews on this fruit crumbcake at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I usually don't review but after seeing mixed reviews I had to say something. This cake is really good and very easy. If you can follow instructions, it won't be dry. How can people say it's dry but yet undercooked?? It was a hit at our town's spring block party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent!!! Loved all the crumbs it made!! Was a winner in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made this cake and it was gone in 2 hours. I made a few changes. I added ground clove and ground ginger to the crumble. I also put pure pumpkin puree in between the layers. Before I put the crumble on, I spread one large can of pumkin puree over the cake. To the puree I had added the same spices plus a scant tsp of salt. Everyone loved this version as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
A little bland and way too many crumbs... i added coffee instead of water and it gave it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This review is just for the crumb topping-- if you are interested in making the whole cake, read no further. I made this today because I had been dreaming of crumb cake, and really more about the crumb than the cake. I had some cherries on hand that were starting to become questionable in freshness, and so I made a cream-cheese cherry pound cake (recipe from cookrepublic.com) for the cake part. Then, when it was almost done baking, I sprinkled the crumb topping--ALL OF IT-- onto the top of the cake. After baking it for about ten minutes more with the heat turned up to 400 degrees to brown the top, I pulled the baked cake out of the oven and let it sit out for about two hours to cool and set. Then.......... I cut a slice for myself. Delicious! The crumb topping was perfect-- thick, crisp, slightly sweet, and slightly nutty in flavor. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalittlebear1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great cake! But, It says use a jelly roll pan which I did and it spilled all in my stove. Tip: use a larger pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I had to do a trial run first. I learned a lot from the first go around. You really need to use less flower for the crumbs and more butter when making the crumb topping. Other then that I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States