Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great cake! But, It says use a jelly roll pan which I did and it spilled all in my stove. Tip: use a larger pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent!!! Loved all the crumbs it made!! Was a winner in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
A little bland and way too many crumbs... i added coffee instead of water and it gave it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very dry and it just did'nt taste good. Expensive with all the ingredients, I would'nt recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Steen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made this cake and it was gone in 2 hours. I made a few changes. I added ground clove and ground ginger to the crumble. I also put pure pumpkin puree in between the layers. Before I put the crumble on, I spread one large can of pumkin puree over the cake. To the puree I had added the same spices plus a scant tsp of salt. Everyone loved this version as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
True, there is a ton, A TON, of crumb topping on this cake. It wasn't nearly sweet enough for my liking though. I would recommend cutting down the flour. I used a butter cake mix. I've read that this cake is bland, I would have to agree. There's just something missing here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. McGriff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I've been making this cake for some time with a few tweaks. I always use a 13 x 9 pan but add one and a half cans of Comstock fruit filling (cherry, blueberry and apple seem to always be the biggest hits) on top of the baked cake, then press the crumb mixture on top of that..and bake the rest of the way. Thank you for jogging my memory about the vanilla extract. Doing it from memory..the crumb mixture seemed to be missing something. Now I know! I get rave reviews on this fruit crumbcake at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Has become go-to recipe. Crumb comes out better made with margarine over butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I was really excited to make this cake. Very dissappointed because it had no taste. Are you sure it's that much flour in the crumbs?? I have a huge sweet tooth and was anticipating a very sugary taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
this cake was extremely dry and did not stay together, it kept falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States