Outrageously Buttery Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Too bad, I had high hopes for this cake. The cake did not cook all the way and most of the crumb topping sunk towards the middle. The outer edges were cooked but I had to thow this away. Cooked it in a 13x 9 glass dish, but followed everything else to a T. So disappointed this was a waste of money. I think I'll stick to crumb cake at my local coffee shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
First, thank you for sharing the recipe. I thought it was good but wasn't "amazing". A little disappointed but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe! The crumbs were easy, and they tasted delicious! I did change the recipe a bit, but nothing too big. Instead of using 1 1/2 cups butter, I used 1 cup margarine and 1/2 cup butter. Also, instead of using a boxed cake, I used a recipe for vanilla cake! The recipe was not from this site, but you coud use a vanilla cake recipe from this site. I think it works better than a boxed cake mix. Overall, this recipe was a big success! Everybody enjoyed it, although the crumb was a little rich! It was still great though... It looked amazing and tasted even better! Thanks for the recipe! This is a keeper! Oh, and definetly use a 9x13 pan... not a jellyroll pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexInWonderland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This review is just for the crumb topping-- if you are interested in making the whole cake, read no further. I made this today because I had been dreaming of crumb cake, and really more about the crumb than the cake. I had some cherries on hand that were starting to become questionable in freshness, and so I made a cream-cheese cherry pound cake (recipe from cookrepublic.com) for the cake part. Then, when it was almost done baking, I sprinkled the crumb topping--ALL OF IT-- onto the top of the cake. After baking it for about ten minutes more with the heat turned up to 400 degrees to brown the top, I pulled the baked cake out of the oven and let it sit out for about two hours to cool and set. Then.......... I cut a slice for myself. Delicious! The crumb topping was perfect-- thick, crisp, slightly sweet, and slightly nutty in flavor. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalittlebear1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
WAY too many crumbs and kind of dry but the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
dry - don't put in jelly roll pan - try in glass casserole dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great cake! But, It says use a jelly roll pan which I did and it spilled all in my stove. Tip: use a larger pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent!!! Loved all the crumbs it made!! Was a winner in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
A little bland and way too many crumbs... i added coffee instead of water and it gave it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very dry and it just did'nt taste good. Expensive with all the ingredients, I would'nt recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Steen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States