Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes to serve during football season. I usually do half Velveeta, half sharp cheddar. I will serve it with homemade lime-chili tortilla chips and the bottle of Frank's Hot Sauce. NOTE: Use homemade taco seasoning if you can. It's better than the pre-packaged stuff by a mile. I found Bill Echols is the best from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
DELICIOUS!!!! Made this for our weekly "dip night", and we totally tore it up! I didn't use the optional chopped jalapenos because my 2 year old was eating this as well. Oh, and I did use the mild rotel instead of the regular to cut a little heat (again, for the little guy). I also added the beans in with the rest of the ingredients instead of waiting until the end and they cooked up fine with no mushiness or breakage. This dip is a new favorite in my house! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is just awesome. I had purchased the ingredients to make this for a picnic this weekend and planned on a double batch. Picnic was rained out but I really wanted to try the recipe. Had not bought the jalapenos because kids and wimpy adults were in on the original plan. Any other time we a re big on thos little peppers. I did up the amount of black beans just a bit because we love them and visually it looked more balanced color and texture wise. Did put the beans in at the beginning too. Will use this recipe again for sure with some fresh peppers and probably regular onion chopped coarse versus the little green ones. Probably will also try it with other meat options although chicken is my fav. I think it would be great as a filling for a wrapped in tortillas baked enchilada style dish but would then probably cut back on the Velveeta style cheese so it is a bit firmer. The recipe as is, IS the bomb for a dip. My husband and I are in heaven with a huge batch of this dip all to ourselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Took this dip to a party last night and everyone raved about it. I tried to use light ingredients where I could (cheese, sour cream) to lighten up the calorie/fat load. Instead of jalapenos, I used a hotter variety of taco seasoning and the Original RoTel and it was perfect for what I was looking for spice-wise. My dip only took about 45 minutes to get hot in my Crockpot. This is my new go-to recipe for anytime I need to bring a dish to anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is really good. The only things I did differently were to marinate the chicken in a chipotle lime marinade for a few hours, and I subbed refried beans for the black beans. I only did this because my husband doesn't care for black beans, and the only change I think it made was instead of whole beans in the dip I ended up with a creamier, thick concoction. I would definitely make this again; it's a good twist on the nachos I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyLakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I doubled this, using one can mild Rotel, one hot, and ground beef instead of chicken. Also added spicy Velveeta (the entire block), Chipotle Taco seasoning, sautéed red onions instead of green, can of Green Chiles instead of Jalapeno and a very large can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
AMAZING. I found this recipe searching for a quick slowcooker dip to make. I have a 3qt slow-cooker (I think) and it filled it up to the top! (I bought 2lb of chicken breast but only used half, then the next day I put in the remainder of the ckn in it to eat in tacos). ____I modded recipe slightly here is what I did:________ cooked 2lb chicken in skillet then shredded it.___ added that+ 2 packages of mexican velveeta,___ 1 can diced tomatoes w chiles,___ 1 can refried beans,___ 1 can mexican beans,___ Bill Echol's Taco Seasoning I (from this site),___ 1/3 c sour cream.___________ I put it all in slow cooker on high for about an hour and a half to make sure it was hot, it was DELICIOUS. Not spicy at all it was perfect. Thank you for this recipe!!!!!_________ edit: I made this again with my "epic slow cooker mexican chicken" recipe instead of plain chicken and it was unreal. unreeeeaaaaal! ****edit*** I made this again, but used 2 cans of chili instead of mexican beans& refried beans, and it tasted just as good if not better! ****update 4/2/12*** Made this AGAIN, this time around was the BEST yet: used big brick of velveeta queso blanco, 1 can hot chili, 1 can mild chili, 1 can diced tomatoes, bill echols taco seasoning recipe, some of my mex ckn, sour cream. In the words of the Miz: aweeesommmeeee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Delicious! I used 2 large cans of chicken to save time and didn't add any jalapenos. I think the jalapenos would add great flavor but my family cannot tolerate the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madison Mom
Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I love this recipe so much, it was a big hit for all. However I would add somethings to it, like olives which you would just garnish the dish with, and sour cream with chives. Besides that the dip was amazing! LOVE IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made sure the tomatoes and black beans were drained very well. I also added a block of cream cheese. I think that really made the dish - it was nice and creamy and didn't have that overly Velveeta taste. I didn't have any runniness issues. I also used two cans of chicken. It was very good but I am sure it would be even better if you bought and shredded a rotisserie chicken (which I will do next time if I have time). I made it for a work function so I only added one seeded and diced jalapeno. I served black olives, diced jalapenos, sour cream with diced green onions and parsely, and hot sauces on the side. The black olives and diced jalapenos were particularly popular. It was a huge hit and I got a lot of compliments. I cooked for 1 1/2 hours on high and 1/2 on low. The last 1/2 hour I was stirring about every 10 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Five-Star Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to make a dip that tastes just like chicken wings only without the mess.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States