Outrageous Creamy Garlic Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I used to wait tables years ago, and they had the most amazing creamy garlic dressing, I'm searching for something similar...this is not it. Think, "lays BBQ potato chips" flavor, sweet and salty flavor, and I like those things, and those flavors, so this isn't a total wash but what I wanted to serve it with really needed the white creamy kind, not BBQ chips kind...it is also quite thick, so good for a topping or dip, not so much tender greens...olive oil, cream, milk or maybe a touch of rice vinegar might thin it a bit...overall yummy, just not the kind of yummy I was looking for...I also skipped the garlic powder and added more fresh. Will add fresh chives right before I eat it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is exactly what I was looking for and I wasn't disappointed! Yes, it is addictive. I prepared it for my couscous salad and it is perfect. I will also be making it over and over. I think I will try using plain yogurt in place of the sour cream next time though..just to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
this is awesome. i did sub soy sauce for tamari and i used a bit less. i used reduced fat mayo and sour cream. i also used minced fresh garlic since I didnt have the granulated on hand. Its sort of a creamy asian dressing. its a nice switch from the normal. i used it on a chef salad. i will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I like all the ingredients in this dressing, so I was surprised that I did not like this dressing at all. Just tasted strange to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisfromNOLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Quite interesting. I made this early this morning so it would have time to set before I used it for salad dressing. I did add one teaspoon of onion powder. I don't know if this was really a dressing for me, at least not for salads. I think this would be a good dipping sauce for chicken fingers or maybe even homemade jo-jo's but on salad, it was a little........different. Oh! I bet this would be great on maybe a chicken salad or even steak salad. Just a regular vegetable salad, it just didn't seem like a good fit for me and my family thought I might be right. I'm going to make this again and try this on a meat salad and update my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Good! I was looking for a dressing to make to go with seared ahi tuna and spinach salad, so I decided to try this. It has a perfect hint of Asian flare that I was looking for. I used a little extra fresh garlic, only about 2/3 of the honey it called for, added a bit of onion powder, and a splash of milk to make it a bit less thick (as other reviews stated). This should go great with dinner. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaBennett
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Wow! I'm temporarily in Belgium and there's really not many dressings here that I'm used to or like for that matter. Well I decided to try this on witloof and IT WAS DELICIOUS!! I didn't have any BBQ so I used regular old ketchup and it still turned out wonderful. This is by far the best dressing I've had in a while. Side note...I also added a teaspoon of onion powder only because I like the combo of garlic and onion. Thanks for this recipe, I'll be using this for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaBennett

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
OMG!! Everyone I have made this for loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I really didn't like this and actually ended up throwing it out. It tasted weird and too sweet on its own. In salad, it wasn't as bad, but it still had a very weird flavor. And more importantly than anything else, I couldn't stand the smell of it. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This has replaced all dressings in our fridge. I make a batch every week and it is our all-time favorite. I use it as a sandwich spread also. Just remember that it does need time to chill for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gert S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States