Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I just made these as written & they are WONDERFUL!!! My favorite part about this cookie is it's texture. Like others have said, they don't spread- which is a MUST in my book! 10 minutes is perfect. Be sure to mix the sugars, butter, PB, egg, & vanilla first- then add the flour mixed with the soda, salt, & oats. Lastly the ch chips. Amazing cookie- thanks so much for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I doubled this recipe. I used dark chocolate chips, chunky peanut butter and added 3/4 cup of Reese's peanut butter chips and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. I did grind half the oatmeal down in my blender only because we like the texture of it, mixed with the bigger pieces of oatmeal. The batter was still a little loose, so I did end up adding another 1/2 cup or so more oatmeal. For me, 9 minutes at 350* was the perfect time. This made 54 medium sized cookies. Good flavor, very nice. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I really enjoyed this cookie as did my family. It combines the 3 worlds of choco chip cookies, peanut btr. and oatmeal all together. It has a wonderful balanced flavor! Before making I read over various reviews to see what comments people had. I noticed the ones regarding moisture being low on several of them and that the 10min mark for baking was the best. So I swapted the measurements for the brown sugar and white sugar (brn. has more moisture in it) and baked them for the much recommended time of 10min. They turned out wonderful. :o) Will be keeping hold of this recipe to do time and again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
THIS IS A TRUELY GREAT CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE. THE PEANUT BUTTER TASTE IS NOT OVERWHELMING, JUST THE RIGHT AMOUNT. I USED ORGANIC PURE PEANUT BUTTER WITHOUT ANY HYDROGENATED OILS BUT REGULAR sKIPPY WORKS TOO. I DIVIDED ONE BATCH AND FORMED THEM DIFFERENTLY. HALF I DID AS DROP COOKIES AND THE OTHER HALF I MADE INTO BALLS AND THEN FLATTENED THEM JUST A BIT BEFORE BAKING. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!! THE DROPPED COOKIES DID NOT HOLD THEIR SHAPE BUT THE ONES THAT I MADE INTO BALLS FIRST (AS DIRECTED) WERE PERFECT. I LEFT THEM IN THE OVEN FOR 11 MINUTES FOR A NICE SLIGHTLY CHEWY COOKIE. LEAVE THEM IN FOR 13 MINUTES AND THEY'RE CRISPY. THANK YOU JOAN FOR SHARING THIS "OUTRAGEOUS" RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
We could not stop eating these cookies. I creamed the butters and sugars +vanilla and eggs before adding dry ingredients. I also lined my cookie sheet with parchment paper so I did not grease the pan. I used ghirardelli bittersweet dark chocolate baking chips and it was DELICIOUS! I will be making these again and again! ETA- This is now the only cookie recipe I use. I am now known for these cookies and I have given the recipe out dozens of times. I have a friend who says they are the only cookie worth eating. You MUST try them with the ghiradelli dark chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This has become one of my favorite cookie recipes! I've made them several times. They are easy to make and taste great! It's a nice combination of flavors and they come out perfect.... crisp on the outside, but still soft on the inside. BTW... I've never understood why some people change the recipe by adding or deleting things ...and then give it a lower rating?!? This one needs NO changes! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
We all loved these cookies. I tripled the recipe, used 2 tsp. of baking soda instead of the 3 called for. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening for a not so flat cookie but still chewy. Also, I used a mixture of semi-sweet and milk chocolate chips and some walnuts. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coalport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Easy to prepare, great texture, but so not rocked by the taste. Actually instead of one great flavor cookie, you get a bland tasting combination cookie. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint James, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
WOW. If I could give this recipe 10 stars, it still wouldn't be enough. These cookies are the perfect taste and texture. Thanks for making my family's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
All I can say is "WOW"!! I never have seemed to be able to get cookies just right and I FINALLY accomplished a great cookie with this recipe!! I will use this recipe forever. Has a great combination of flavors and a great crisp edge. The kids went nuts over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States