Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
These were outstanding. I was skeptical because I am a purist when it comes to chocolate chip cookies. I used chunky peanut butter and swapped the amounts of white and brown sugar. I like the depth you get from brown sugar. These turned out amazing. Shared at work and no one believed me when I said it had oatmeal and peanut butter in the recipe. I HIGHLY recommend you try this. Follow the baking suggestion too of letting it rest on the pan for 5 minutes after baking. They are too crumbly to move otherwise. They bake up perfect after that 5 minutes and transfer easy to a cooling rack. Wonderful recipe. Thanks so much to the poster!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
A bit thin. Will try 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening next time. Otherwise a really good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I would give this 4.5 stars if I could. The texture was nice and they turned out pretty good, but I was a little disappointed in the flavor. Just expected them to be a little better. I added less than the called-for chocolate chips, and it was still too much...The kids thought they were pretty good, and the hubby liked them, but they were not our absolute favorite cookie. Nice for variety every now and then, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I used unsweetened apple sauce instead of butter and it was delicious. This is a total keeper. All our favorites in one. I agree that the 10 minute mark was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I make these probably every 5-6 weeks. I would not at all consider myself a baker but I never have problems with them. I love that I always have the ingredients for them on hand. I line my pan with parchment paper so that soaks up a lot of the grease other people have complained about. I am able to drop them on the sheet but they cook more evenly when I press them down with the spoon. I also add a little extra vanilla or have tried coconut extra instead which give them a good flavor. Don't be tempted to add extra oats or chocolate chips or else they won't hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Only thing I did differently was make them twice as large as suggested. Sensational!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
These are so good! I had given up baking because I just didn't have the knack for it, I mean, I can cook, but I definitely can't bake. I decided to give these a try and I am so happy that I did! They are wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly as written. I was a bit worried when I mixed the first batch of ingredients because it looked a little dry, but after adding the batch with the egg it turned out perfect! Thanks so much for sharing this one, I can't wait till my kids get home and taste them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I have (and use) this original recipe for Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies that I clipped off a bag of flour (trademark General Mills), and tucked in a plastic sleeve from almost 30 years ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Love it! I did grind up the oats and added 1/2 cup of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Thought these were great! I made them to take into the office twice and both times a total hit! I read a few reviews that thought the dough was a little wet so I added a little more oatmeal until I had the consistency that I could roll into balls like a more traditional peanut butter cookie and they were just perfect. In fact I like these so much that I FINALLY created a login for allrecipes after looking at this site for years and this is my first official review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States