Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I made this recipe the other night following the recipe just like it was posted. I was looking forward to it because I love the soup from Outback It had a flavor that was not becoming to me or my family.I will not be making this again. Sorry for the bad review but it was just not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I love this soup, we make it many times throughout the year. My alterations are few but to us it make a big difference. 1. When make the paste I take about a cup/cup and a half of the liquid from the soup and mix it with the flour to prevent clumping. 2. I only boil the onions for 15 minutes, instead of thirty, for the first two steps to prevent the onions from disintegrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This was very good but, it did not get my top rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
It's waaaaay toooooo salty. Don't add any at all as the bouillon cubes and cheese already have salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gerald Cheek
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
My family loves this made it for Christmas dinner . The wife's family love it to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerald Cheek

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
OMG- This.Is.Magical! I added chopped carrot & potatoes b/c I needed to use them up, & WOW! It really tastes like Outback Soup! Will make this a regular dish for the cooler seasons. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Just made this and was delicious. I had to make a couple of changes, used whole milk because i did not have heavy cream and i used sharp cheddar for same reason. Never had outback onion soup, but this was delicious. Will definately make again, who knows might try with the heavy cream and colby jack cheese the next time. Give it a whirl, it is fast and simple enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I took the advice of a number of reviewers, and it was gone in one day, despite my making a double batch. I did saute the onions and leave them on the side until about 20 minutes til the end. I cut the simmering time in half. I mixed the flour with the soup base, then added back. Added the cheese and heavy cream, and voila. Disappearing soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very easy to make and I would likely make it again. Husband rated it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Tried this recipe tonight. I did a few things different then what was written. Here is what I did. 1 Quart of water 4 beef bouillon 2 Large Yellow Onions (sliced) 2-3 Medium Baked Potatoes (mashed) 1 tsp. Garlic Salt 2 garlic Cloves (mashed) 1/2 cup of Sharp cheater cheese 1 cup of Monterey Jack cheese 1/2 a cup of Heavy Whipping Cream 1/2 a cup of Sour Cream 1/4 a cup of Whole milk 3/4 a cup of White flour Bake your potatoes and mash them. (I do this a day before so I have less work when I am making the soup) Put aside. Heat Water up in soup pot with bouillon and salt, as the water is heating cut up your onions and garlic. Place your onion, garlic and potatoes in pot and boil for 30min. As the mixture is boiling Shred your cheeses. Then in a mixing bowl Add your cream, sour cream, whole milk and flour and mix until smooth. Add the Milk mixture to your soup and simmer for 30min. A good side is garlic bread. Should only take you an hour and ten minutes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States