Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Exactly like the restaurant recipe! My four year old kids loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This is a very tasty recipe! Only problem I had was keeping the flour from lumping up... but was not bad enough to ruin the soup! I will definately make this soup often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This soup was great - it tasted so close to the soup served at the restaurant. I was very pleased. One thing - it looked like I had waaay too many onions at first - and I was a bit worried about that - but when it was time to serve it, everything came out fine! I used Cheddar and Monterey Jack cheese because I couldn't find the colby-jack blend. I served it in a breadbowl and it was sooo good. Next time, I may try using light cream or something a bit less sinful - just to cut down on the guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This is just like the famous Outback's soup. It's delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Ok,,, This was perfect. Just like my fav at Outback! The Outback near me frequently take this yummy soup off their menu.... Now I have the cure... No need to return! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
The flavor was excellent!! But I also had a problem with the flour clumping. So I wisked my onions into shreads. But it didn't ruin the flavor. Next time I will cut the flour in half (or add more water)and if the soup isn't thick enough I will thicken with corn starch. I used 1 cup whipping cream (It's what I had in stock) and I used half chedder cheese and half swiss cheese. (again what I had in stock.) Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This recipe is really close to the restaurant version. I got a little excited and didn't take my time, and caused it came out a bit lumpy, but it tasted great! I'll definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
I have made this same recipe for years, and I can tell you that it does taste like the one at Outback. The only problem is the flour clumping up. The first time I made this my dad told me the "dumplings" were his favorite part of the soup! This also serves more than four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Good Soup! Here's some tips that might help. Try GENTLY straining out the onions BEFORE mixing in the flour. Also, after you've mixed your flour paste together, take a little bit of soup from your pot and mix it in with the flour paste to incorporate it a bit before whisking it into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This is one of the best soups I have ever tasted! I think it tastes even better than the Outback one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States