Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Tastes good. Would make a few changes for next time. Leave out the flour and use bread or croutons instead and melt some mozzerella cheese over the top of the bowl like in the restaurant. Very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This was really good, but need to play with it a little. Didn't give off quite as strong of an onion flavor that Outback's does. I used two vidalia onions and might try a vidalia and a white or yellow onion next time to get a stronger onion flavor. The soup was a little more watery than Outback's too, but not a problem. We added a lot more cheese than the amount the recipe calls for, hoping it would thicken it up, but it didn't. Just more cheesy:) Regardless, a great recipe and will be added to my cookbook for sure!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Ok,,, This was perfect. Just like my fav at Outback! The Outback near me frequently take this yummy soup off their menu.... Now I have the cure... No need to return! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This is one of the best soups I have ever tasted! I think it tastes even better than the Outback one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
This soup was good, although I also had a problem with the flour clumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I was expecting this wonderful soup, but the flavors just don't mix. Will not make this again and if this is what Outback's soup tastes like, I won't ever order it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Good Soup! Here's some tips that might help. Try GENTLY straining out the onions BEFORE mixing in the flour. Also, after you've mixed your flour paste together, take a little bit of soup from your pot and mix it in with the flour paste to incorporate it a bit before whisking it into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
It is like Outback's! I use red onion and scale the recipe down for 2(enough for 3 or 4) Sometimes I use half chicken broth. I add a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce & white wine or sherry in w/the salt & pepper and half the flour! Make sure your water is very cold when you make the roux and add it to the soup slowly as you wisk to help reduce lumps. I also used sharp cheddar cheese and another time used half american and the next half swiss. Very, very delicious!! Will definitely continue to make again and again...4 times so far!! TY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
I have made this same recipe for years, and I can tell you that it does taste like the one at Outback. The only problem is the flour clumping up. The first time I made this my dad told me the "dumplings" were his favorite part of the soup! This also serves more than four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2003
This was pretty good. Not as good as Outback's but will make again. I used vadallia onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States