Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
As written, this is totally bland, imo. Apart from thickening the soup with some cornstarch mixed with water - this avoids all the clumps - I followed the recipe exactly. Because I was unhappy with both the flavor and the texture, I whizzed the soup up with a handblender, then added another 2 large sliced onions. I simmered this until the onions were soft, whizzed it a little again so that the soup was semi-chunky, then I added some grated extra-sharp Cheddar. It was ok, but it could have used a ton of extra cream. This was quite a lot of work for rather mediocre results. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This soup really does taste like Outback's cream of onion soup. I used about twice the amount of reccomended onions and creamed it with a handheld blender to make it smooth. Truly an onion lover's soup! Tip: This soup does not freeze very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
First off , you should use the large yellow onions , it has alot to do with the texture and flavor.As far as the clumping of the flour,,to get it just right you need to add a very small amount at a time to prevent this from occuring. I did see a comment above about their Outback taking that soup off the menu occasionally , all you do is call the a day or two before you plan on going and request it and they will make it. I must say though, this is a very good recipe , very good twin of Outbacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is an excellent recipe that I've made many times, with many requests for the recipe. I don't use vidalias, as they are too sweet for this. As far as the clumping flour; remove some of the hot broth to a separate container. Mix in the flour to make a thin paste (use a mixer if necessary). Then add the paste to the soup. This will alleviate the flour lumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Tastes good. Would make a few changes for next time. Leave out the flour and use bread or croutons instead and melt some mozzerella cheese over the top of the bowl like in the restaurant. Very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This was really good, but need to play with it a little. Didn't give off quite as strong of an onion flavor that Outback's does. I used two vidalia onions and might try a vidalia and a white or yellow onion next time to get a stronger onion flavor. The soup was a little more watery than Outback's too, but not a problem. We added a lot more cheese than the amount the recipe calls for, hoping it would thicken it up, but it didn't. Just more cheesy:) Regardless, a great recipe and will be added to my cookbook for sure!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Ok,,, This was perfect. Just like my fav at Outback! The Outback near me frequently take this yummy soup off their menu.... Now I have the cure... No need to return! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This is one of the best soups I have ever tasted! I think it tastes even better than the Outback one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
This soup was good, although I also had a problem with the flour clumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I was expecting this wonderful soup, but the flavors just don't mix. Will not make this again and if this is what Outback's soup tastes like, I won't ever order it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States