Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was a good soup. Not exactly how I remember the one from the Outback restaurant - but good nonetheless. To make it faster I began by sauteeing the onions in a little bit of water to steam them while I prepared the broth. Then I added the onion, the flour mixture and lastly the cream and the cheese. I used slightly less water to compensate for what would have boiled off with all the simmering. By doing it this way, it only took me about 45 minutes start to finish. I also used Pepper Jack cheese to add a little kick to it. Nice soup. Esp with the croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Was very close to Outback soup. Not exact but almost there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
yum yum I also used wondra flour and make sure to use broth and mix with water and flour to get out lumps before adding to soup..another meal I wont have to order out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was very similar to Outback's soup! I made the recipe with just minor changes. I sliced 4 small-med. onions and one really big one, and had too many onions so I added 2 more cups of water & 2 more boullion cubes. I added 1 cup of white cooking wine & left out the salt. I used a bit more cheese & pepper than called for to compensate for the extra liquids. Thickened with cornstarch so it didn't need to simmer so long. Turned out very good & was better the next day! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
The soup was good but I did feel it was a bit bland. I added some pepperjack cheese for some extra zip and garlic powder. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This was delicious!!! The only thing I changed is replaced the flour with wondra. I tried the flour and it was like glue and did not get smooth, I ended up scooping all the lumps out then using wondra. Next time I might try light cream as well, less calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Excellent soup and easy. I will definitely make again but add more onions. We love onions. It was very tasty and though I haven't had Outback's soup in a while, this one was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Wow....is this delicious!!! I think it is just about as good as The Outback, although I know it's not exactly. My boyfriend and I asked the manager at our local Outback for the recipe, and he told us there was white wine in it, so this can't be exactly it. However, it is REAL close. The only suggestions I have is that you start out with 1/2 of a teaspoon of pepper and then adjust to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Fuore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made as written, but this just not had the flavor I was looking for. Though I've never had this soup at this restaurant I have a much better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This soup is awesome, I loved every bite. I used vidilia onions and lots of them. It is definately worth the time - Vegetarians don't worry just use vegetable broth and it tastes just as good if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States