Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This was delicious!!! The only thing I changed is replaced the flour with wondra. I tried the flour and it was like glue and did not get smooth, I ended up scooping all the lumps out then using wondra. Next time I might try light cream as well, less calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Excellent soup and easy. I will definitely make again but add more onions. We love onions. It was very tasty and though I haven't had Outback's soup in a while, this one was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Wow....is this delicious!!! I think it is just about as good as The Outback, although I know it's not exactly. My boyfriend and I asked the manager at our local Outback for the recipe, and he told us there was white wine in it, so this can't be exactly it. However, it is REAL close. The only suggestions I have is that you start out with 1/2 of a teaspoon of pepper and then adjust to your taste. The other suggestion to avoid lumps is to use Wondra flour. It doesn't clump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CT_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made as written, but this just not had the flavor I was looking for. Though I've never had this soup at this restaurant I have a much better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This soup is awesome, I loved every bite. I used vidilia onions and lots of them. It is definately worth the time - Vegetarians don't worry just use vegetable broth and it tastes just as good if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was not what I was expecting. It was tasting wonderful, but as soon as I added the heavy cream it turned into a pasty, thick, mess. It was tolerable, but I won't make it again. I do think that the recipe, up until the cream was good and I am sure I would have liked it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connor'sMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Grange, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Very good - will make again. Added more onions and slowly added the flour. Next time I will use less bouillon - too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I used low sodium beef broth and less flour. I always try to make recipes a little bit healthier. Soup came out good. Will must likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was so delicious I could have licked the bowl! I did take out the onions before adding flour. Tried to add a little hot liquid to the cold paste as suggested..did not prevent tiny lumps. Also, I don't know that it needs to simmer as long as it says. When I put the onions back in, they disintegrated...it looked like porridge! :) I think next time I will use twice the onions, not cook as long so that they are like strands (like in the restaurant)and/or leave them out until the very end. I used jarred "Better than Bouillion" which really gave it a rich hearty base. This is true comfort food! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I love Outback's creamy onion soup but this was not it or even remotely like it. It didn't taste bad but the consistency was on the watery side and it just didn't look good. Will not make a nice presentation unless you camoflauge it with a soup topper or something. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States